CD Reviews
(THIRD DAY) OR BY ARTIST NAME (JENNIFER KNAPP)
0-9|A|B|C|D|E|F|G|H|I|J|K|L|M|N|O|P|Q|R|S|T|U|V|W|X|Y|Z

Anberlin- Never Take Friendship Personal (2005)



Average User Rating: 9 out of 10
Total votes: 41 (Click here to vote)
Total comments: 27

[b]Tracks[/b]
[left][font=Arial][font=Verdana]1. Never Take Friendship Personal
2. Paperthin Hymn
3. Stationary Stationery
4. (The Symphony Of) Blase
5. A Day Late
6. The Runaways
7. Time & Confusion
8. The Feel Good Drag
9. Audrey, Start The Revolution!
10. A Heavy Hearted Work Of Staggering Genius
11. Dance, Dance Christa Paffgen[/font] [/font][/left]
[left][font=Arial][/font] [/left]
[left][b]For more info on Anberlin, click [/b]here[b].[/b][/left]


Posted on 02-21-2005 by Jonular
First review.

It’s a bit harder than their first album, Blueprints for the Black Market, I think, especially the intros. The vocalist from Story of the Year, for better or for worse, even appears on one of the songs ("the Runaway,” I think). Lyrically, all of the songs are themed on relationships (but not the kind of “relationship song” that Hillary Duff or some other female pop star would sing about). Interestingly, most of the songs I enjoy are the ones that are not the ones on the album’s promotional site.

(I originally wrote that on my blog)

I think, compared to Blueprints..., it's ever-so-slightly not as good. I really haven't figured that out. They're quite different in some ways.

~Jon

Posted on 02-21-2005 by 12StonesDude
I thought this cd was much better than their first, Paperthin Hymn is an excellent, thought rovoking song. And the cd as a whole has a more mature sound to it, I give it an 8.

Posted on 02-22-2005 by RockOn28
I think this cd is better but it doesnt have the song I like best on it which is Cadence. This happens a lot. I love this album though. I gave it a 9. The lead singer's voice sounds a lot better and they seem like better musicians. There's a lot I like about this album. The riffs are good. Lyrics are good.

Posted on 02-22-2005 by DreamChaser
Heya,

Good, but not as good as Blueprints. I'd give it an 8.

Posted on 02-22-2005 by emo_boy
9 out of 10.
A lot of maturity here. I like the lyrics esspecially. A theme of relationships here, but all done very well, in a different way. a smart variety without straying toofar for a signature sound. A good second effort.

Posted on 02-25-2006 by freakybassboy
amazing band!!!!!!!!!I love this cd.even though it's kind of short,u can listen to it "over and over"(a sleepless night becomes bitter oblivion)Sounds kind of like fall out boy only musically anberlin is a LOT better. the basslines actually take some practice.Much better than the 4 chord symphonies masterfully created by most bands,where someone has to slap u in the face to wake u up in the 2nd verse.Definite 10 out of 10!!!

Posted on 02-26-2005 by Minger
Meh, its good and all, but the focus is on relationships apaprently - and not God.

Iduno, maybe its just me

Posted on 03-01-2005 by Unregisted
I hear this whole cd from a friend of mine and was instantly sold. After I bought I came to the realization that it's even better than I thought. There is definatley a reoccuring theme of relationships but all taken from a christians point of view. Good lyrics, tight guitars, amazing rythm section, great band. Can't wait to see them live.

Posted on 03-03-2005 by BereanatHeart
I love this album. I'm not even going to try and figure out which album of theirs is better, they are both rock awesome, that's all I know. haha. Yet again there's not a single song on here that I don't like. Quality through and through. Bit harder than before, defintiely, but very good, I like it. duh, lol.

Posted on 03-04-2007 by Mr. claw
[QUOTE=Adam K;2671478]My fav's are "Paperthin Hymn" and "The Feel Good Drag".[/QUOTE]

Gotta love the breakdown in "Feel good drag". But I think "Never take friendship personal" is my favorite.

Posted on 03-27-2008 by muthletecian
I love this cd... it is the first one I have of anberlin. If you look at the cover and look through the lyrics, there is a little humor in there. Definently tracking down the other cd from them.:rofl:

Posted on 03-27-2008 by Oh!Gravity
One of my top 2 favorite albums I own. I love pretty much every track. My favorites are Time and Confusion and Paperthin Hymn (which are also my 2 favorite Anberlin songs in general). 9 of 10 because I don't care for Blase much.

Posted on 04-16-2005 by someone53927
From the moment I first heard the title track, I was hooked on this album. Every song on it has a powerful message of love and hope. To the one who said that the lyrics don't focus on God, they do focus on relationships, and I think there's an underlying tone of having a relationship with God, or at least a Godly one with whoever you may be with. And look at bands like Relient K, a lot of their songs don't exactly talk about God but they're great songs. This CD is much better than [I]Blueprints[/I] also, because both lyrically and musically it's a lot more mature.

Best songs on the CD:

Never Take Friendship Personal
Paperthin Hymn (probably best overall)
Stationary Stationery
(the symphony of) Blase
The Feel Good Drag

Posted on 05-29-2005 by Unregisted
I love this band. I really want a copy of each album but dont know where 2 look. Paper Thin hymn is my fav.10 out of 10!w00t!

Posted on 08-26-2006 by HolyRockJfreak
I've definitely listened to this whole cd...and its excellent....fav tracks are "audrey, start the revolution", "paperthin hymnn", "a day late", and "time and confusion"

Posted on 10-12-2006 by the crossing
i like this album quite a bit!
my favourite song on this is the feel good drag!
its an awesome song i like the way he screams on it as well!

Posted on 10-17-2005 by acousticpunker
:clap: Dude the first track Is rockin hard and the CD gets better from there. I love It. Can't get enough.

Posted on 10-17-2005 by Muffinly
They had potential on their first cd for something good to come up, but unfortunately it didn't come to pass. [i]Never Take Friendship Personal[/i] is a victim of Aaron Sprinkle overproduction. There is a just a loss of the genuine songwriting going on in the first album, which, aside from [i]Foreign Language[/i] and [i]Autobahn[/i], had very good things going for it. This album has a few good moments, but only moments. The songwriting lacks and the energy is nearly disappeared. I gave it a 5/10

Posted on 10-23-2005 by HolyRockJfreak
I personally don't think it is as good as the first cd, but from what I've heard it is still pretty sweet.

Posted on 10-25-2005 by surferdude9375
Good CD and I personally reccomend it. I gave it a 9 because all the songs are good not just the first 3 or popular ones.

Posted on 11-07-2006 by Adam K
My fav's are "Paperthin Hymn" and "The Feel Good Drag".

Posted on 11-08-2005 by HolyRockJfreak
I've heard "A Day Late", "Paperthin Hymn" , and "Time and Confusion" which are all great love songs. I've also heard "Never Take Friendship Personal" which is pretty cool. check out these songs at [url]www.purevolume.com/anberlin[/url]

Posted on 11-28-2006 by thesteve
8.
i thought it was catchier and better produced than "Blueprints". It's not a 10, but it's a good, solid album.

Posted on 11-30-2006 by heisouronlyhope
this Cd is good I give it a 8, its good but the last song kind of lost it like its such a long song just to take up space when they could of wrote 2 other songs that are 4 minutes long and them be alot better then the song is, like the last song is good its just so long.
My fav songs off it is

1. "Paperthin Hymns"
2. "A day late"
3. "Confusion and time"
4. "Never take friendship personal"

but I think the whole album is great!

Posted on 11-30-2006 by earlessdog
pretty good, i said 8, the feel good drag is definetly the best song, i saw them in concert this summer, they were really good.

Posted on 12-07-2005 by Tash75
Ok ok I confess I am addicted to Anberlin, its a worry cause I hate to overplay my fav bands, fearing Ill get sick of em. They just rock, vocals are awesome, guitars rock and the rhythm section is excellent! I love them! There coming to play here (NZ) next month YAY! Love both the albums for the different things they offer. Really well engineered (NTFP) ... Who else can quench my desire for more of this christian rock sound?? Plz give me ideas cause Christian radio here plays way too much R&B etc and I cant tolerate it waiting for the odd rock song. Please help me...... Tash....

Posted on 12-07-2005 by hockeyfreak30
this CD is amazing. Much more mature sound then their first one. Def. a 10/10. Good songs are "Never Take Friendship Personal", "Paperthin Hymn", and "Time and Confusion"


Complimentary Christian Ringtones
Dadamobile and CGR have teamed up to bring your favorite Christian artists right to your phone. Sign up today and get 10 complementary ringtones!
Tab Country
Did you know CGR has a sister site w/ country guitar tabs? Well we do! Its called Tab Country. It has a great archive with a lot of country tabs.
Rockin Tabs
Are you looking for a site that has rock guitar tabs? Then Rockintabs.com is the place for you. It is a budding site with many rock guitar tabs. Submit your tab today.
Tab Gallery
Tab Gallery has a compilation of christian, rock, and country tabs all in one place. Come visit us.