CD Reviews
(THIRD DAY) OR BY ARTIST NAME (JENNIFER KNAPP)
0-9|A|B|C|D|E|F|G|H|I|J|K|L|M|N|O|P|Q|R|S|T|U|V|W|X|Y|Z

Project 86 - Drawing Black Lines (2000)




Average User Rating: 9 out of 10
Total votes: 41 (Click here to vote)
Total comments: 27

Tracks
1. Steins Theme
2. One-Armed Man - Play On
3. Me Against Me
4. PS
5. Set Me Up
6. Chimes
7. A Toast To My Former Self
8. Sad Machines
9. Star
10. Chapter 2
11. Open Hand
12. Twenty-Three

For more on Project 86, click here.


Posted on 01-07-2003 by sixzirens
glad to see so many people giving props to one of the best bands out there, but some of you may be missing the point....yes these guys are excellent musicians (believe me, i listen for talent more than any particular style) but their lyrics are phenomenal! i challenge more people to read all the lyrics on an album before they listen to it. gives you a different perspective.

Posted on 01-09-2006 by DKelly
Brilliant CD. I don't think I've heard a more energetic CD from the boys. It sounds like they just went all out on this CD as far as just making it a fun, memorable heavy rock album.

Andrew Schwab is truly at the top of his game here, vocally and lyrically(though [i]Truthless Heroes[/i] lyrics were pretty darn amazing too). The sheer intensity he gives off in every song is unmistakable. If what I heard is correct, they got a second guitarist to accompany Randy Torres on this one. Easily one of the best choices they ever made. The guitar riffs are so brutal and fun to listen to. Steven Dail's bass lines are tremendous as usual, and Alex's drumming is great as well.

"Stein's Theme" is one of my favorite album openers ever(I'm of the firm belief that Project 86 consistently writes the best album openers in music). It's just leaves you flat on your back right of the gate. The album is just loaded with highlights, especially "One Armed Man(Play On)", "Me Against Me", "Set Me Up", "A Toast To My Former Self" and "Chapter 2".

Overall, 10 out of 10. A true hard rock masterpiece.

Posted on 06-13-2002 by Insyder778
Hardcore fans rejoice, this cd's for you. These guys are great. All the songs also have a great message. I definitely recommend this to anyone who loves hardcore music.

Posted on 06-15-2003 by AllTheWayLive86
Sweet cd! I think I like this one better than Truthless Heroes. Project had two guitars in this cd. My favorites are basically the first five tracks and A Toast To My Former Self. Set Me Up is one the greatest hardcore songs ever. My friend has an online radio station, and he plays punk and a little bit of hardcore. Its mostly secular. Anyway, I told him to play Set Me Up. He did. And when he was finished he was flooded with Instant Messages saying "Who was that? That song was awesome!" That's exactly what I said. And there will be many more...

Posted on 06-18-2004 by PrinceImrahil86
This is their best cd that i've heard, but i haven't heard songs to burn your bridges by just yet. My fav song off this one is PS.

Posted on 07-01-2004 by fudrudler
I love this cd. No matter how many times I listen to it it never gets old.

Posted on 07-11-2002 by Underhill
This is a very good cd! After I heard P.O.D. I didn't think I'd ever find a Christian band that good but I did Project 86 is great

Posted on 07-13-2002 by Tracy
I gave it a 7, I rather enjoy it, even considering it's a lot harder than most of what I listen to. "One Armed Man (Play On)" and "Chimes" are my faves. It's a cool CD to listen to in the mornings when I need to wake up and stuff. :D

Posted on 07-13-2002 by Underhill
My favorites are "One Armed Man (Play On)" and "A Toast To My Former Self"

Posted on 07-13-2002 by Pseudoname
great cd, flat-out. Best track is #5 and saddest is Sad Machines. Those guitarists are incredibly fast, too. I'm not sure who to put them up against in terms of speed but my video of them practicing i got off of Guitar.com can't keep up...if that means anything :)

Posted on 07-18-2002 by Bassman1185
I WOULD give it a 10, but for some reason, I can't vote on any polls here on CGR. It's a great cd. Really, really deep lyrics, and a crushing rythym section. They have a great live show, too, if you ever have the chance to see them.

Posted on 07-20-2002 by .torrin.
quite simply, the best nu-metal band out there. They are incredible. their lyrics really set them apart from the rest of the crowd.

Posted on 08-13-2003 by JMessenjah17
This has got to be the BEST album that Project 86 have ever made! They are one of my favorite bands other than P.O.D., Blindside, Newsboys, East West, and Living Sacrifice. I highly recommend this cd for anyone (yes, ANYONE), Christian or not. The bass lines in each of the songs have such a metallic sound to them when Steven plays. And Randy must've had a lot of fun playing to each of the main riffs. I think the Top 5 Best Songs on the album are:

5. Me Against Me
4. Sad Machines
3. Stein's Theme
2. Chimes
1. Twenty-Three

I love rapcore and hard rock like crazy man! That's why you should just go out and buy this cd. I guarantee that you'll love it!

Posted on 08-14-2002 by meatfinger
Excellent Cd, perhaps the top Christian band out there today (them or POD). they have a great guitar sound (even though the songs are rather simple) and their thrashy style is appealing to me. Hard to choose a best song, but I would say probably "A Toast to my Former Self" and "Chapter 2" for heavy songs and "chimes" for a softer song. Great CD. Thoughtful lyrics. 9/10 (1 demerit for guitar simplicity).

chris

Posted on 08-18-2006 by Kazuki-chan
My fav song on this CD is "A Toast to My Former Self". Other than that, I didn't care too much for it. It seems like Andrew only speaks in one tone. But I like "Songs to Burn Your Bridges By". :-/

Posted on 08-20-2005 by ChurchPunk 2
Great CD. One of the best hard rock CD's out there. Love it.

Posted on 08-20-2005 by underoathrocks
I love Project 86 they rock but this cd is not as great as the rest but it still rocks its just that there others are like 10's and 9's.

they are coming out with a new cd september 27 it's hard metal YYEESS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :D :D :D :D :) ;) :lol: :spin:

Posted on 09-17-2004 by classicgtrfreak
i second that, i think this is an awsome CD, and i love it.

my fav songs would be number 1, 5, and 10

jake

Posted on 10-10-2002 by progbass8
[QUOTE][i]Originally posted by meatfinger [/i]
[B]Excellent Cd, perhaps the top Christian band out there today (them or POD). they have a great guitar sound (even though the songs are rather simple) and their thrashy style is appealing to me. Hard to choose a best song, but I would say probably "A Toast to my Former Self" and "Chapter 2" for heavy songs and "chimes" for a softer song. Great CD. Thoughtful lyrics. 9/10 (1 demerit for guitar simplicity).

chris [/B][/QUOTE]

Listen to the new cd and it'll take that right outta you...

i think my favs are "one armed man," "stein's theim," and "chapter 2"

if u havent heard the new cd it is amazing...

Posted on 10-12-2005 by MJ_Avalanche
I'd give this a 9. Certainly their best effort yet.

Posted on 10-23-2002 by the big g
this cd rocks!!!!!!!!
a toast to my former self is the greatest song ever

Posted on 11-09-2005 by HolyRockJfreak
I've only heard "one Armed Man" but it's sweet!

Posted on 11-10-2005 by TahoeJeff
This is a great album. I just listened to it again for the first time in a long time. Steins Theme is just such a great way to start the album. The we have songs like Set Me Up and Chapter 2. I think I'm going to listen right now actually. It's a shame that these guys didn't get the same support that P.O.D. had. In my opinion these guys were better but got stuck playing on on weird tours...Queensryche? I was there....Weirdest thing ever was watching Project 86 put on an awesome set yet the entire audience except myself and 2 friends were standing in the front, singing along. Someone actually asked if we minded sitting down. I said, "Yes, I actually do mind...this is the band I came to see."

Posted on 11-29-2005 by Chrizzle
I gave it a 10 because its a great cd and of course because its project and all project cd's = 10 :D excpet self titled...anyway its a great cd because of songs like Stein's Theme, One Armed Man, Chimes (one of my personal favorites), Chapter 2, Open Hand, just an all out great hard rock/metal cd...however I dont like it as well as ATRWF (...And the Rest will Follow) and STBYBB (Songs to Burn Your Bridges By)

Posted on 12-09-2003 by Clayton
The most cutting edge band in music today. Inovative, origional, not trying to shamlessly rip off some crap secular band. Great CD thier best. Best Song is porbubly Me Ageinst Me. This is great, if you have ever had the hypothetical discussion that goes sort of like, a band could be Christian and still sing about anger, and a sin as long as they aproace it from a Christian perspective, this is for you.

a million out of 10 :D

Posted on 12-10-2003 by Art
7. Solid CD. Good, but not great.

Posted on 12-30-2002 by Kori
Great CD!
My favorite song on it is One-Armed Man (Play-On)
Although I also love, Me Against Me, Stein's Theme, Star, and who could possibly forget Sad Machines?
These guys KICK! :D Great fore album to TH! :D


Complimentary Christian Ringtones
Dadamobile and CGR have teamed up to bring your favorite Christian artists right to your phone. Sign up today and get 10 complementary ringtones!
Tab Country
Did you know CGR has a sister site w/ country guitar tabs? Well we do! Its called Tab Country. It has a great archive with a lot of country tabs.
Rockin Tabs
Are you looking for a site that has rock guitar tabs? Then Rockintabs.com is the place for you. It is a budding site with many rock guitar tabs. Submit your tab today.
Tab Gallery
Tab Gallery has a compilation of christian, rock, and country tabs all in one place. Come visit us.