CD Reviews
(THIRD DAY) OR BY ARTIST NAME (JENNIFER KNAPP)
0-9|A|B|C|D|E|F|G|H|I|J|K|L|M|N|O|P|Q|R|S|T|U|V|W|X|Y|Z

Max, Kevin - Stereotype Be (2001)




Average User Rating: 8.62 out of 10
Total votes: 26 (Click here to vote)
Total comments: 16

Tracks
1. Return Of The Singer
2. Existence
3. Be
4. Angel With No Wings
5. Shaping Space
6. Dead End Moon
7. Union Of The Soul
8. The Secret Circle
9. I Don't Belong
10. Blind
11. On And On
12. Her Game
13. Deconstructing Venus
14. I Went Over The Edge Of The World

For more on Kevin Max, click here.


Posted on 02-13-2003 by dcaudiopc3fan
this is an okay cd, but i got sick of it after a while, but after reading the book i came t o get the songs in my head, even though i havent listened to the cd in a month. im gonna listen to it now.:kwink:

Posted on 02-16-2004 by SupaNova
"Stereotype Be" is a very good album, if you're looking for something different. Musically, Kevin takes several differnt styles, even including some middle eastern tunes, and blends them into a refreshing "experimental pop" of sorts. While some songs may sound a little bit similar ("On and On" and "Her game" for instance), each track has enough originality to stand out on their own. To complement the music, are Kevin's unique, warbling vocals that emit a passion I don't think could be matched by either Tobymac or Micheal Tait.
However, unlike his work with DC Talk, the lyrics found here poetically reflect more on relationships and women, though a quiet, thoughtful presence of Kmax's faith is felt throughout the album. While not the most openly "Christian" album, "Stereotype Be" is well worth the listen, if you're looking for something different and innovative.

Posted on 03-30-2013 by akeldama
Stereotype Be is creative, poetic and features the talent's of King Crimson's Adrian Belew, how can it be bad! 10/10.

Posted on 04-22-2004 by Evenstar
I don't know if this is the place to ask, but didn't his name use to be Kevin Max Smith? Lately I've been hearing him as Kevin Max...what happened to Smith? (I heard he's an adopted child, so this may have something to do with it.)

Posted on 04-24-2005 by DKelly
This is definitely a very unique CD, lyrically and musically. Some of the songs take a very long time to understand. Not exactly my kind of music, though. However, if I were to rate the uniqueness of this CD, I would easily give it a ten.


This CD makes me think of Incubus ONLY in the fact that there will probably never be another artist similar to this kind of music.

Posted on 06-12-2010 by telestarjammer
In my opinion there is not a bad song on this cd. I also think this is the best of the Solo efforts. Kevin Max is very creative and a breath of fresh air from all the trend following bands in the music industry. Probably the most the most underatted album of the decade. 10/10

Posted on 06-18-2005 by audioafan
i gave this cd a ten for originality of lyrics, originality of music, and because kevin's voice is so wonderfully developed. i would reccomend this cd to anyone, especially vocalists, because it is so unique, original, and creative. the lyrics are so unique, and sometimes dark, in fact, that it makes me wonder where he is spiritually. good music, however. especially for its price. i think it's like, 6 or 7 bucks at berean. go buy it right now! oh yeah- i can only complain about 1 thing- it only has eight tracks. not enough

Posted on 06-22-2002 by luvhispresence
I really like this CD. I think it is very creative. . . And, Kevin Max has a great voice. . .

Posted on 07-31-2002 by SccHarpGirl
Kevin Max, in my mind, is the best of the dcTalk trio. And his solo album is not disappointing. It has a completely unique sound that is missing from the hip hip (toby) and rock (Tait) of the other albums. The lyrics remind me of poetry, and most of the songs flow as such. The only reason that I gave this CD a nine out of ten was that I felt that some of the songs had lyrics that were not exactly christian. He could have been slightly more appropriate in spots, as he is under a christian label.

Overall, a great effort that far outshines anything he has done in his work with dcTalk.

Posted on 08-02-2004 by SuperMonkey
[COLOR=Olive]yeah, kevin max eugene smith. i think he dropped the last two names a while back.[/COLOR]

Posted on 08-02-2004 by Nate
[QUOTE=punker15]if i had to choose the voice i hated the most, it would be kevin max. he has this aweful habit of adding vibrato on the end of every note he sings. [/QUOTE]

He does do the vibrato a lot, but I love it because his vibrato is one of the most unique that I have ever heard. It is part of what makes him distinct. It's awesome, I like it. I can't imagine how you could hate that vibrato. Haha. :D

In His love,
Nate

Posted on 08-12-2003 by bmcneal
Fresh sound and lyrics. I especially like the wordplay.

Posted on 08-12-2003 by Jonular
Creative and intriguing lyrics. IMO, unique music. Some sounds Middle Eastern, and others from other countries. In an interview I read with KMax, he said the whole album sounded "very international" himself. I'd agree.

And he has the singing talent neither toby or Michael have. He can sing very good. Much better than me.

~Jon

Posted on 09-25-2004 by Mattlock
This CD is amazing. The lyrics are just wow. They take thought. After thinking about them for hours on end, you still only have half the meaning of the song. Kevin is probably one of the most creative people in music, mainstream or Christian IMO. Don't buy this CD unless you are looking for something totally different.

Posted on 10-06-2003 by punker15
if i had to choose the voice i hated the most, it would be kevin max. he has this aweful habit of adding vibrato on the end of every note he sings. he's the main reason i can't stand dc talk.

i think he has talent but his voice is very different sounding. i guess that's what makes him unique.

my favorite dc talk solo artist is toby mac.

Posted on 12-20-2002 by NobleWard
Kevin Max, in my mind, is an extremely creative, imaginitive artist. His CD is very different from anything else I have in my collection, and I admire the fact that his lyrics are very poetic and expressive. While not "dc Talk" Christian ministry music on every track, it is more of a personal declaration, by a Christian artist, of his personal feelings, emotions, and thoughts. I respect this in an artist. I give the CD a nine. Why not a ten, one may ask? It's not my favorite CD, that's why. Only my favorite CDS get a ten silly. While I do enjoy Kevin's "different", I have to be in a certain state of mind to really fully enjoy the music. Ten rated CDs are easy for me to get into from the get go. Overall, I like the CD and enjoy the music thoroughly.
~Noble


Complimentary Christian Ringtones
Dadamobile and CGR have teamed up to bring your favorite Christian artists right to your phone. Sign up today and get 10 complementary ringtones!
Tab Country
Did you know CGR has a sister site w/ country guitar tabs? Well we do! Its called Tab Country. It has a great archive with a lot of country tabs.
Rockin Tabs
Are you looking for a site that has rock guitar tabs? Then Rockintabs.com is the place for you. It is a budding site with many rock guitar tabs. Submit your tab today.
Tab Gallery
Tab Gallery has a compilation of christian, rock, and country tabs all in one place. Come visit us.