CD Reviews
(THIRD DAY) OR BY ARTIST NAME (JENNIFER KNAPP)
0-9|A|B|C|D|E|F|G|H|I|J|K|L|M|N|O|P|Q|R|S|T|U|V|W|X|Y|Z

Relient K - Relient K (2000)




Average User Rating: 8.53 out of 10
Total votes: 111 (Click here to vote)
Total comments: 49

Tracks
1. Hello McFly
2. My Girlfriend
3. Wake Up Call
4. Benediction
5. When You're Around
6. Softer To Me
7. Charles In Charge
8. Staples
9. Anchorage
10. 17 Magazine
11. Balloon Ride
12. Everything Will Be
13. Nancy Drew
14. K Car

For more on Relient K, click here.


Posted on 01-02-2005 by Unregisted
The CD is great! I can really relate to a lot of the songs..... but whether you like this cd or not you have to check out their next 3. Mmhmm is awesome- it's really gonna go places.

-em

Posted on 01-09-2003 by Insyder778
Yet another unbelievable Band!! Their best song here would have to be Softer to Me, it's kinda got that Offspring intro sound.

Posted on 02-13-2003 by MobMan924
Softer to me is My fav song on this album...I think. Maybe it's
My Girlfriend or 17 magazine. Ok I give up theyer all My favorite song:D. 10
Cant wait till March 11th when "Two lefts dont make a right, but three do" comes out.

Posted on 02-23-2007 by Gsus_Rawks
Best Relient K CD. Honestly, the only [I]really[/I] good RK CD.

Posted on 03-08-2004 by Britishgrl4evr
This is an awsome rk cd,and ironically it was the last one of their's i got. I LOVE hello mcfly and softer to me.Also charles in charge is great.

Posted on 03-27-2004 by BereanatHeart
BLAH! Okay, maybe I'm not being completely fair. I bought TLDMARBTD then I bought AOATIC mostly because I was just learning guitar and their songs are so easy to play, then I bought this one and I haven't really listened to it a whole lot, I am pretty sick of this band. SO a 3 is more than it deserves imo

Posted on 04-07-2003 by QuandashayBarbi
huzzah! i love everyone of these guys' cd's equally...they're my ultimate favorite band. i love the message of the songs!

Posted on 04-13-2004 by Brian-Alexander
i gave it a 10 because relient k rocks!

Posted on 04-23-2004 by mulletman
Solid CD, but not the greatest. towards the end, the songs start to get very forgettable. The best ones are Softer to me and Hello McFly, but you can't sell a CD just because of 2 songs.
6

Posted on 04-23-2004 by Andrew
I really cannot believe that no one has mentioned When You're Around yet. That is just insanity. The song is awesome. I love it so much.

The CD is about a seven overall. My favorite of all of their works.

Posted on 04-28-2004 by jyounger
I like Relient K. They joke around a lot though and I guess when I'm not looking for serious lyrics. They have good songs though. Like Failure to Excommunicate. My favorite line in that song is, "The world just keeps you, at an arms length, every week you work up the strength, to fight the flames that are hurled let your faith shine right through, and know its the world versus jesus and you". Pretty awesome. Later
Jen

Posted on 04-28-2004 by Art
Except that song is not on this CD....

Posted on 04-29-2004 by Awzmgd117
can't stand them, musicallly its not great not terrible, could be better coule be worse, but man, after seeing them live, twice now...imo, they have nothing to offer or say, worst show i've ever seen, so bad i can't even listen to there stuff at all now...terrible....

Posted on 04-29-2004 by Awzmgd117
can't stand them, musicallly its not great not terrible, could be better coule be worse, but man, after seeing them live, twice now...imo, they have nothing to offer or say, worst show i've ever seen, so bad i can't even listen to there stuff at all now...terrible....

Posted on 05-08-2003 by punker15
totally awesome cd! all the songs have a good message. i give it a 10.

Posted on 05-09-2004 by Jimvee
Sorry guys but this cd sucks. But it is a debut album, and among punk groups it's tradition to make your first really suck. Softer to Me is the only song worthwhile to listen to. A couple, like My Girlfriend, When You're Around, and Staples, were okay but get really old really fast. And pretty much everything past Staples totally sucks. 17 Magazine and the Balloon one are 2 of the lamest, corniest, and just plain dumb songs ever. Thankfully they improved greatly on their next cd, so if you've only heard this cd and hated it, check out their second it's quite an improvement.

Posted on 05-19-2006 by . And1 .
I gave it an eight too.

Posted on 05-26-2006 by Mortified
This is a cool album. I like 'Wake Up Call" "Softer to Me" and "Staples." I think it's in the same mold as "Anatomy of the Tounge in Cheek" and I personly like that one better.

Posted on 06-02-2004 by greenducktape
This c.d. was pretty good. I like it. Although, I like there other two a lot more.

Posted on 06-06-2004 by Sk8ter21
i gave it a 9 i dont have the cd but have heard the songs and now am planning on getting it relient k is awesome

Posted on 06-11-2002 by Mark
This is a really good cd. "My Girlfriend" and "Wake up Call" are the bests in my opinion. Its not as good as their second cd, "The Anatomy of the Tongue in Cheek", but its still good.

Like Anatomy of the Tongue in Cheek, this is a cd that you can put in your cd player and not ever skip a song.

One of the best Christian Rock bands ever.

Posted on 06-11-2002 by liL puNk midget
relient K is the best!! my favs from dat cd probably are wake up call, softer to me, everything will be, & nancy drew.

MarkO: Like Anatomy of the Tongue in Cheek , this is a cd that you can put in your cd player and not ever skip a song.

Too TRUE!!!!

Posted on 06-11-2002 by SoccerAaron
MarkO: Like Anatomy of the Tongue in Cheek, this is a cd that you can put in your cd player and not ever skip a song.

Yup Yup Yup.
I love that. :D

Posted on 06-22-2003 by lizwrenne
very good effort put forth here.
i love softer to me
very catchy and good
this was a great worship album and my 'christian music sucks' friends like their sound- just wait till they hear the rest from the guys!

Posted on 07-10-2002 by Dormin75
See I loved this CD too. There follow up CD is great as well. Fav on this is prob. Nancy Drew and Wake up Call! Awesome lyrics!
-God Bless

Posted on 07-18-2007 by Rkchic[k]
softer to me-my favorite song of all times.

i just wish they'd play it in concerts...but how many of them still play now that recorded the song?

:(

Posted on 07-19-2007 by Oh!Gravity
The Matts at least. I thought Dave was playing with them then, but maybe not.

Posted on 07-19-2007 by schecter777
Dave didn't play on the first record. Some guy named Stephen Cushman played. Yes, the Matts are the only ones still around since then.

Posted on 07-25-2003 by nckcool_11
pretty cool
i little dorky but it is their 1st cd so it is all good

Posted on 07-25-2003 by SupaNova
This is the closet Relient K ever got to putting out a real punk rock album. There are some great songs on this record like "Wake Up Call" and Softer to Me" and of course, "My Girlfriend". Of course, the self titled doesn't quite measure up to their latest work ("The Anatomy.." and "Two Lefts..") but it's a classic never-the-less.

Posted on 07-26-2003 by Gustin
This is in my opinion RK's best CD it rocks!!! softer to me, my girlfriend, and hello mcfly, are just some of the best songs. They're new CD's (Anatomy of Tongue and Cheek and Two Lefts Don't Make a Right...) are good but Relient K is the best of them all.

Posted on 08-07-2002 by Muffinly
I like relient K. I think this is they're second best cd so far. (Of course, there are only 2)

EDIT:Yes, it is their second best, looking back. But my mind has changed greatly about this album. I would lower my vote now to a 3 or 4... 3.

Posted on 08-23-2002 by jennH_03
Relient K rocks the mullet! (For those unfortunate ones who don't know what that means...they rock!!) If you think their cd's are good, just wait to see them live, they will blow you away! They are awesome guys, all down to earth! Matt Theissen is hulirious!!

Posted on 09-16-2004 by thelitguy
I thought the vocal parts on this were done with amazing talent. It was the only thing the band had going for them.

I bought this long before their whole band-wagon. It is the only one I bother listening to anymore.

Posted on 09-23-2006 by Kazuki-chan
I bought this when I went to the Philippines! I was pretty schocked though, cuz the first one I bought was MMHMM. Quite a switch!!! :o But yeah. I like "Staples", "Hello McFly", "Softer to Me", "17 Magazine" and... I kinda like them all. But I agree with what's-his-face, the songs do get pretty forgettable toward the end. Does anyone know the name of the secret song on this one??? I've heard two names for it: "Punk Rock Picnic" and "Call Us Rockstars". Anyhow, good CD. But why'd it take so long for it to come out? They recorded it in 1997, and didn't put it out until 2000!!! Did they wait for them to finish school or something???

Posted on 09-23-2006 by Chem6Afreak
[QUOTE=Kazuki-chan;2627084]I bought this when I went to the Philippines! I was pretty schocked though, cuz the first one I bought was MMHMM. Quite a switch!!! :o But yeah. I like "Staples", "Hello McFly", "Softer to Me", "17 Magazine" and... I kinda like them all. But I agree with what's-his-face, the songs do get pretty forgettable toward the end. Does anyone know the name of the secret song on this one??? I've heard two names for it: "Punk Rock Picnic" and "Call Us Rockstars". Anyhow, good CD. But why'd it take so long for it to come out? They recorded it in 1997, and didn't put it out until 2000!!! Did they wait for them to finish school or something???[/QUOTE]

The reason they didnt realease until 2000 is because they knew they couldn't compete with Switchfoot's Legend of the Chin in 1997.:yep:

Posted on 09-25-2004 by Kenny C.
I have a soft spot for this album. It's a really solid debut, the songs make me smile. 7/10.
-Kenny

Posted on 09-25-2005 by Gsus_Rawks
Best cd RK has ever put out,

although im not a fan of RK anymore or any of thier newer stuff. The older RK is great.

10/10

Posted on 09-25-2005 by Pierced
Good CD. I like the newer stuff better, but that's just my opinion :-/

Pierced*

Posted on 09-25-2007 by RK_lover
It was Matt T, Matt H, Brian Pittman and the aforementioned Stephen.
I think this is one of their better cds, probably third (after Anatomy and MMHMM). I'll give it a 9.

Posted on 10-23-2004 by melz_rkfan
i think is album is rad! i love staples and charles in charge! u kno @ the begginning of the song where it goes "hey charles check this out this is PHAT"...well i have that on my mobile as the sound it makes wen i get a txt! and it cracks every1 up! This CD is cool as!

Posted on 11-11-2007 by Relientk101
Not a bad cd I gave it a nine

Posted on 11-11-2007 by RK_lover
[QUOTE=Relientk101;3096807]Not a bad cd I gave it a nine[/QUOTE]

Yay! You finally got it!

Man, this cd will always have a special place in my heart, considering it's got the first few songs I learned on guitar.....

Posted on 11-30-2003 by Megatron
I LOVE this CD. "Softer to Me" is on the best!! I think The Anatomy of the Tongue in Cheek is their best yet, though.

Posted on 11-30-2003 by Art
WOW... this CD is a solid debut album, but musicall, it leaves some to be desired. That's why I gave it a 6. They improved greatly with their musical skills on the second album. Still, this one is a very fun listen.

Posted on 12-01-2006 by heisouronlyhope
I give it an 8 because its not one of their serious albums but their still funny.

Posted on 12-01-2006 by akaukal
This is RK's finest next to Two Lefts... I could speak highly of every song. I give it a 9.

Posted on 12-16-2005 by Timberwolf
I gave it an 8. It's pretty good. Little to punk for me.

Posted on 12-25-2002 by emo1557
This CD is really cool. I the songs are Christian, yet funny like secualr pop-punk songs. Its cool. "I wish I was Michel J. Fox"


Complimentary Christian Ringtones
Dadamobile and CGR have teamed up to bring your favorite Christian artists right to your phone. Sign up today and get 10 complementary ringtones!
Tab Country
Did you know CGR has a sister site w/ country guitar tabs? Well we do! Its called Tab Country. It has a great archive with a lot of country tabs.
Rockin Tabs
Are you looking for a site that has rock guitar tabs? Then Rockintabs.com is the place for you. It is a budding site with many rock guitar tabs. Submit your tab today.
Tab Gallery
Tab Gallery has a compilation of christian, rock, and country tabs all in one place. Come visit us.