CD Reviews
(THIRD DAY) OR BY ARTIST NAME (JENNIFER KNAPP)
0-9|A|B|C|D|E|F|G|H|I|J|K|L|M|N|O|P|Q|R|S|T|U|V|W|X|Y|Z

Newsboys - Thrive (2002)




Average User Rating: 8.8 out of 10
Total votes: 50 (Click here to vote)
Total comments: 25

Tracks
1. Giving It Over
2. Live In Stereo
3. Million Pieces
4. Thrive
5. Rescue
6. It Is You
7. Cornelius
8. The Fad Of The Land
9. John Woo
10. Lord (I Don't Know)

For more on The Newsboys, click here.


Posted on 02-10-2006 by 4 The Lord
Unforunately, you are right.
The Newsboys have been blemished somewhat.
However, their new worship Cds are good.
I just wish they come out with another 'fun' CD like Thrive and LLD before they quit.

In Christ,
4 The Lord

Posted on 02-12-2003 by Unregisted
Ok, dudes, this cd kicks so much! Like, yeah!
10! 10! 10!
Good words, great music!
Buy this thang!

-That one dude

Posted on 03-08-2003 by NathanGrimm
My opinion of this album and the Newsboys is they've fallen from where they once were. They have less creativity/innovativeness than they once did in the music and the lyrics. None of the songs were awesome, a few were good, some were just plain boring.
Nathan

Posted on 03-15-2004 by randomchamp
what an incredible cd. i give it a 9. it would be a 10 except for the song John Woo. that has to be the dodgiest dong EVER written by the newsboys. SHAMEFUL.

Posted on 04-03-2003 by Skeeter
Great CD, gets a 9, but they're missing that one little thing that would kick them up to a 10; I suspect that one little thing is John James. *sigh*

Posted on 04-11-2003 by punker15
i think the first song (giving it over) really stinks! it sounds like a lame imitation of the ac/dc sound. the rest of the cd is pretty good though! i give it an 8.

Posted on 04-20-2004 by Brendini
Thrive is, in my opinion, the Newsboys at their very best. Their earlier CDs, like Going Public and Step Up To The Microphone, are good but lack the 'hit' quality that Thrive is saturated with. From the edgier songs at the beginning and end- "Live In Stereo", "Giving It Over", "Cornelius", and "The Fad Of The Land"; to the pop stuff in the middle- "Million Pieces", "Thrive", and "Rescue"; and the worship hit "It Is You"; to the last song, a slower ballad- "Lord (I Don't Know)- they all are great. If you even remotely enjoy the Newsboys sound, you have to get this album. Be advised- it is much more rocking than their latest album, Adoration. If you liked the slower sound of the Newsboys on that CD, Thrive may not be for you.

My Rating: 8/10
My Verdict- An excellent album, with the Newsboys at their very best. A must for any Christian rock fan. You aren't a Newsboys fan if you don't have this CD.

Posted on 04-25-2003 by JohnM
Personally, I love this CD. It's my personal favorite CD. Favorite songs are ... well, basically all of them ;) maybe I should say my least favorite, if I had to pick, was Lord (I don't know).

Posted on 06-14-2002 by Mugga Please
Great cd. They keep the newsboys sound, flare, and lyrics throught it. Lot more poppy toe tapping songs ...."Live in stereo", "Cornelius", "the fad of the land", and the big hit worshippy one "it is you". So if your a newsboys fan or like any of their stuff you'll love this cd and go pick it up now.

Posted on 06-20-2002 by CCheline
Nothing innovative or exciting. Very boring and dull. Loves Newsboys, but like Audio A, this time around, they just didn't do it. Hits gots me excited about the future, but this album was just, well, crap! Sorry

Posted on 06-30-2003 by sanzi
[quote=JohnM]Personally, I love this CD. It's my personal favorite CD. Favorite songs are ... well, basically all of them maybe I should say my least favorite, if I had to pick, was Lord (I don't know).[/quote]

You and I are two peas in a pod you know. I was thinking the exact same thing. I liked Lord (I Don't Know) though.

skeeter_dan, You're prolly right about the John James thing. He did make it great.

Posted on 06-30-2003 by JohnM
Actually, since I wrote that, that song has grown on me. And if I had to pick, my favorites would be Giving It Over, Thrive, Cornelius, and Fad of the Land. ;)

Posted on 06-30-2003 by sanzi
[QUOTE=JohnM]Actually, since I wrote that, that song has grown on me. And if I had to pick, my favorites would be Giving It Over, Thrive, Cornelius, and Fad of the Land. ;)[/QUOTE]
kewl :)

Posted on 07-11-2002 by Underhill
ocsupertoneguy: Great cd. They keep the newsboys sound, flare, and lyrics throught it. Lot more poppy toe tapping songs ...."Live in stereo", "Cornelius", "the fad of the land", and the big hit worshippy one "it is you". So if your a newsboys fan or like any of their stuff you'll love this cd and go pick it up now.

it wasn't that good...

CCheline: Nothing innovative or exciting. Very boring and dull. Loves Newsboys, but like Audio A, this time around, they just didn't do it. Hits gots me excited about the future, but this album was just, well, crap! Sorry

it wasn't that bad...

Posted on 07-11-2002 by Jay42
I gave it a 7. Those are good tunes! Especially 'Cornelius' and 'It Is You.'

Posted on 07-13-2002 by matth
This is a good cd. Definately beats out Love Liberty Disco and Step Up To The Microphone. There's quite a few songs that will run in your head the rest of the day. A plus for any Christian music fan's collection. If you bought Love Liberty Disco, you MUST buy this one.

Posted on 07-27-2003 by Peter
Praise the Lord for Steve Taylor! When the Newsboys decided to make albums without him, we all realised why he was there in the first place!

Thrive takes its cue from Take Me To Your Leader - it's fun, it's catchy, and it does rock in parts...

Rescue would be the lowest point on the album (it sounds like an outtake from their 'shine - best of' sessions) But there's enough good stuff (uh-oh, unintentional LLD reference!) to forgive this one stumble...

Posted on 07-28-2004 by coolguy4553
what's not to like on this cd...i think its one of there best....the songs are incredible, and the lyrics have so much meaning to them..


rating 9/10

Posted on 07-29-2002 by tropicana
I gave this disc a 7. It's not their best work ever, but it had a few good songs (as in "Million Pieces", "John Woo" and "It Is You") Maybe I'm hyped because I saw them in concert yesterday, but I would pay the $10 US to get this.

Posted on 08-11-2003 by bmcneal
Best Newsboys Album. Period. Perfect Score. Go buy it if you don't already have it. That's an order!

Posted on 08-15-2003 by shmbob
I like all the rest of their CDs, and I was hoping this one would be good since they had such excellent new stuff on Shine: The hits, but this CD failed. I haven't bought a CD, Newsboys or otherwise since I bought this one, one March 28, 2001 I think, exactly 2 days after its release.

Posted on 08-15-2003 by shmbob
i didn't like this cd much, though i like all their other cds. haven't bought a cd since this one, newsboys or otherwise, and i got it march 28, 2002, 2 days after its release

Posted on 09-09-2005 by 4 The Lord
This CD is extremely recommended. It has I think like 7 songs not in a collection CD like REmix or Shine the Hits. I gave it a nine.

In Christ,
4 The Lord

Posted on 09-25-2005 by fallinguprawks
I gave this a 7. I probably would have given it more, but Newsboys, from my perspective, has been blemished since they went worship. This is a pretty good cd, though. Really original writing; probably my favorite Newsboys cd.

Posted on 10-22-2002 by OneWithTheMud
I like it. It's a good CD. Million Pieces is a great song.


Complimentary Christian Ringtones
Dadamobile and CGR have teamed up to bring your favorite Christian artists right to your phone. Sign up today and get 10 complementary ringtones!
Tab Country
Did you know CGR has a sister site w/ country guitar tabs? Well we do! Its called Tab Country. It has a great archive with a lot of country tabs.
Rockin Tabs
Are you looking for a site that has rock guitar tabs? Then Rockintabs.com is the place for you. It is a budding site with many rock guitar tabs. Submit your tab today.
Tab Gallery
Tab Gallery has a compilation of christian, rock, and country tabs all in one place. Come visit us.