CD Reviews

The Becoming - Vol. 1

Average User Rating: 8 out of 10
Total votes: 1 (Click here to vote)
Total comments: 3

01. Dressed in Black
02. The One to Hurt You
03. Our First Sunrise
04. I Cry
05. Silent as the Grave
06. The Night That Has No Morning
07. We're Already Dead
08. Your Love
09. Heaven Isn't So Far
10. Somebody Didn't Come Home Last Night
11. Escape You
12. We Close Our Eyes
13. Under the Full Eclipse

Posted on 06-11-2010 by earlessdog
Suggested guide for voting
10 - Amazing CD. Everyone should own it.
9 - Among the best of the year.
8 - One of the top CDs around, but could have been improved in a few places.
7 - Not a bad CD, but could have been better in a number of places.
6 - Pretty good for it's genre, but overall it's only acceptable.
5 - Decent CD, but only if you're a big fan of this genre.
4 - If you love this band, you'll like this CD. Otherwise, probably not.
3 - If you're a fan of this genre, the CD is barely acceptable.
2 - If you're a big fan of this band, this CD is tolerable.
1 - Even if you like this band, you won't like this CD.

Posted on 06-11-2010 by earlessdog
I remember when these guys and this album came out. The album artwork intrigued me with it's simplicity, then I saw a picture of the members. I laughed and said "good grief" and never checked them out.
I'm sick of trendy people trying to outdo others with how they can look. These guys look like a cross between Avenged Sevenfold and Showbread. Their appearance is at the point of being a gimmick. Being covered in tattoos having emo haircuts isn't anything new or shocking anymore. To me that's how these guys were trying to sell themselves, with a look that may have worked 10 years ago.

Anyway, that didn't have anything to do with the music, i'm interested to see how these guys are musically, if they are a joke or if they can actually write decent music.

Posted on 06-12-2010 by Darkhyperchaos
8/10. Surprisingly good album. I just heard of these guys for the first time a about a week ago, but I liked what I heard and bought the album. The sound is really something I haven't heard before in the Christian music industry. The keys are used extremely well, giving the album an addictive almost "haunting" sound to it. I don't really know how to positively describe it, but it's really enjoyable.

The vocals are also a strong point, the lead singer has a great voice. It's kind of interesting because I bought the album and listened to it before I saw the band member's kind of over the top goth look. You can hear the goth elements in some of the songs, but the lead singer especially has a way better and different voice than he appears to have.

This album is far from perfect though. It starts to slump quite a bit after track 6. The keys also seems to become less interesting after track 6. I wouldn't say the later tracks are terrible, just not nearly as addictive or unique. Overall it's a great album, it's fairly unique, but I like the sound quite a bit. I only wish the addictive sound found mainly on the earlier tracks would have stuck throughout the album.

Recommended tracks so far: Dressed In Black, The One To Hurt You, Our First Sunrise, Silent As The Grave, The Night That Has No Morning, and Under The Full Eclipse.

Complimentary Christian Ringtones
Dadamobile and CGR have teamed up to bring your favorite Christian artists right to your phone. Sign up today and get 10 complementary ringtones!
Tab Country
Did you know CGR has a sister site w/ country guitar tabs? Well we do! Its called Tab Country. It has a great archive with a lot of country tabs.
Rockin Tabs
Are you looking for a site that has rock guitar tabs? Then is the place for you. It is a budding site with many rock guitar tabs. Submit your tab today.
Tab Gallery
Tab Gallery has a compilation of christian, rock, and country tabs all in one place. Come visit us.