CD Reviews

Stryper - Murder By Pride

Average User Rating: 8.22 out of 10
Total votes: 9 (Click here to vote)
Total comments: 4

01. Eclipse For The Son
02. 4 Leaf Clover
03. Peace Of Mind
04. Alive
05. The Plan
06. Murder By Pride
07. I Believe
08. Run In You
09. Love Is Why
10. Mercy Over Blame
11. Everything
12. My Love

Posted on 08-16-2009 by earlessdog
Suggested guide for voting
10 - Amazing CD. Everyone should own it.
9 - Among the best of the year.
8 - One of the top CDs around, but could have been improved in a few places.
7 - Not a bad CD, but could have been better in a number of places.
6 - Pretty good for it's genre, but overall it's only acceptable.
5 - Decent CD, but only if you're a big fan of this genre.
4 - If you love this band, you'll like this CD. Otherwise, probably not.
3 - If you're a fan of this genre, the CD is barely acceptable.
2 - If you're a big fan of this band, this CD is tolerable.
1 - Even if you like this band, you won't like this CD.

Posted on 09-07-2009 by Leboman
This is easily the best Stryper album since [I]To Hell With The Devil[/I]. It pretty much covers every base that Styper have have been on over the past 25 years...yes...they have been around 25 years.

Opening track [I]Eclipse For The Sun[/I] (it had been incorrectly labeled [I]Eclipse Of The Sun[/I] during the iTunes pre-order download) is similar to the more modern direction Stryper took for its last album (2005's [I]Reborn[/I]). It has a somewhat "punky" guitar lick and fast-driving drums but retains multi-layered vocals and guitar solos. [I]4 Leaf Clover[/I], [I]Murder By Pride[/I] and [I]Mercy Over Blame[/I] are classic Stryper hard rock songs that feature everything fans of old school melodic metal love. [I]The Plan[/I] and E[I]verything[/I] are solid hard rockers that could've been on [I]Reborn[/I]. [I]Peace Of Mind [/I]is a cover of the Boston song and features Tom Scholz on guitar. It doesn't improve the song, but it doesn't hurt it either. [I]Alive[/I] is a beautiful piano ballad that hearkens back to their M-TV glory days. [I]Run To You[/I] and [I]Love Is Why[/I] are interesting songs that take Stryper in a different direction. They are modern and really don't sound like what you'd expect from Stryper, outside of the vocals and guitar work. [I]I Believe[/I] sounds like Michael Sweet fronting Creed. Take that however you want to. The last track is a re-recording of a 1984 demo that was originally done as Roxx Regime. It got left off the original [I]The Yellow And Black Attack[/I] EP but the lyrics resurfaced as a cheesy ballad when [I]The Yellow And Black Attack[/I] was remixed and released following [I]Soldiers Under Command[/I]'s initial success. It's called [I]My Love (I'll Always Show)[/I] and it sounds like it is from 1984. It's a nice nod to the early days but isn't much of an improvement from the demo version that has been officially released already.

If you like Stryper you will probably enjoy most (if not all) of this album. If you have an open mind and enjoy good melodic hard rock, you should love it. There is some really GREAT guitar playing on this album. The bass and drums are outstanding as well. There are some production flaws but that is to be expected from a self-produced album with no label support at all. It's definitely a step into the future with a healthy respect for the past.

Posted on 09-14-2009 by earlessdog
You know, I have only heard bits and pieces of this band and just thought of them as "one of those cheesy heavy metal bands from the 80's where the singer has that stupid Motley Crue kind of voice", but a few days ago I went into a Christian books store and I checked out a few songs from this album; I liked it. My initial reaction of the singers voice kind of skeptical, but as the song went on I really started to appreciate it and actually enjoy it, vocally and musically.
Ever since then I have really been wanting to buy this album, and I will, and when I do I will post a full review of it, but from what I have heard, it sounds like it could be a pretty sweet album.

Posted on 09-14-2009 by Leboman
[QUOTE=earlessdog;3464865] it sounds like it could be a pretty sweet album.[/QUOTE]



Complimentary Christian Ringtones
Dadamobile and CGR have teamed up to bring your favorite Christian artists right to your phone. Sign up today and get 10 complementary ringtones!
Tab Country
Did you know CGR has a sister site w/ country guitar tabs? Well we do! Its called Tab Country. It has a great archive with a lot of country tabs.
Rockin Tabs
Are you looking for a site that has rock guitar tabs? Then is the place for you. It is a budding site with many rock guitar tabs. Submit your tab today.
Tab Gallery
Tab Gallery has a compilation of christian, rock, and country tabs all in one place. Come visit us.