CD Reviews
(THIRD DAY) OR BY ARTIST NAME (JENNIFER KNAPP)
0-9|A|B|C|D|E|F|G|H|I|J|K|L|M|N|O|P|Q|R|S|T|U|V|W|X|Y|Z

August Burns Red - Constellations



Average User Rating: 8.86 out of 10
Total votes: 7 (Click here to vote)
Total comments: 8

01. Thirty And Seven
02. Existence
03. Ocean Of Apathy
04. White Washed
05. Marianas Trench
06. The Escape Artist
07. Indonesia
08. Paradox
09. Meridian
10. Rationalist
11. Meddler
12. Crusades


Posted on 05-16-2010 by Darkhyperchaos
9/10. I'll be honest here, I thought most of their older material kind of sucked. Constellations on the other hand is a superb album. The difference and maturity from Messengers is extremely apparent, I feel like I'm listening to a whole new band. Amazing album!

Posted on 07-17-2009 by earlessdog
Suggested guide for voting
10 - Amazing CD. Everyone should own it.
9 - Among the best of the year.
8 - One of the top CDs around, but could have been improved in a few places.
7 - Not a bad CD, but could have been better in a number of places.
6 - Pretty good for it's genre, but overall it's only acceptable.
5 - Decent CD, but only if you're a big fan of this genre.
4 - If you love this band, you'll like this CD. Otherwise, probably not.
3 - If you're a fan of this genre, the CD is barely acceptable.
2 - If you're a big fan of this band, this CD is tolerable.
1 - Even if you like this band, you won't like this CD.

Posted on 07-17-2009 by Mr. claw
Leaning towards a nine or ten.

I don't really mind if you don't listen to this or don't like ABR. But know this: this cd could have just been Messengers all over again, and it's so much more than that. It's still brutal and satisfying but at the same time much more diverse, especially in the breakdown category. I will say that this may have been over hyped, but lay that aside and just listen. Really solid cd.

Posted on 07-18-2009 by crazymoose
I put 9, but I meant to put 8. It's definitely better than Messengers. Not 50 stereotypical C-power chord chugging breakdowns every freaking song. The only thing that keeps me from rating it 10 is I'd love to see some cleaner stuff mixed in. I love brutal stuff but having a break of clean stuff every once in a while just makes it even better.

Posted on 07-18-2009 by Mr. claw
And I could not disagree more.

If you want a break, well, there's other bands for that. :D

Posted on 07-18-2009 by crazymoose
^I guess... For me it's just I listen to the cd and I'm so overloaded that after a while I can't quite appreciate it as much cause it just all blurs together.

Posted on 07-20-2009 by conceived in fire
[QUOTE=Mr. claw;3433362]
I don't really mind if you don't listen to this or don't like ABR. But know this: this cd could have just been Messengers all over again, and it's so much more than that. It's still brutal and satisfying but at the same time much more diverse, especially in the breakdown category. I will say that this may have been over hyped, but lay that aside and just listen. Really solid cd.[/QUOTE]
Exactly what I would say, except stated better. I gave this an 8 since 8/10 = 4/5
Most metalcore bands don't make this much progression between records, and some don't make any at all. This is better than [I]Messengers[/I] in every way.
This better make it on our top 20 secular records of '09, cause [I]Messengers[/I] made it on the best of year list, and this is just....so much better!

Posted on 07-21-2009 by Mr. claw
And I will say that I generally hate it when bands fade out songs instead of actually doing an outro, but the three or so times they do it on this cd didn't really bother me at all. It does seem lazy more than fitting to me though.

Also, Rationalist is such an amazing song in 2 and half minutes. Gah. A real kick in the face.

And the solos present here each fit their respective songs so well I really didn't notice them the first time. They're not technically amazing, they just sound like they belong. With the possible exception of the one in Existence. That's the only one that's sounds very solo....ish. And may not have been necessary.


Complimentary Christian Ringtones
Dadamobile and CGR have teamed up to bring your favorite Christian artists right to your phone. Sign up today and get 10 complementary ringtones!
Tab Country
Did you know CGR has a sister site w/ country guitar tabs? Well we do! Its called Tab Country. It has a great archive with a lot of country tabs.
Rockin Tabs
Are you looking for a site that has rock guitar tabs? Then Rockintabs.com is the place for you. It is a budding site with many rock guitar tabs. Submit your tab today.
Tab Gallery
Tab Gallery has a compilation of christian, rock, and country tabs all in one place. Come visit us.