CD Reviews
(THIRD DAY) OR BY ARTIST NAME (JENNIFER KNAPP)
0-9|A|B|C|D|E|F|G|H|I|J|K|L|M|N|O|P|Q|R|S|T|U|V|W|X|Y|Z

House of Heroes - The End Is Not The End



Average User Rating: 9.17 out of 10
Total votes: 23 (Click here to vote)
Total comments: 13

01. Intro
02. If
03. Lose Control
04. Leave You Now
05. Dangerous
06. In the Valley of the Dying Sun
07. Code Name: Raven
08. By Your Side
09. Journey Into Space, Pt. 1
10. Sooner or Later
11. Baby's a Red
12. Drown
13. Faces
14. Voices
15. Field of Daggers
16. The Young and The Brutal


Posted on 03-30-2009 by LC7rock
[QUOTE=Mr. claw;3341263]If you like House of Heroes, I bet this is a great cd. And to be clear I didn't [i]dislike[/i] them at all coming in, I was just sort of lukewarm.

But I despise it. The verses are creative and catchy, but for some reason the band feels very strongly that each chorus must be very loud (and in my opinion, obnoxious) to indicate that it is indeed a chorus. That basically ruins it for me, because I don't like the singer's voice all that much when he gets louder anyway. And throwing guitar solos into relatively laid back songs (leave you know) really spoils them for me. When a song is laid back, leave it that way, unless you can really do something awesome. And even then, don't do it every time.

I can't say it's not well done, it just bugs the crap out of me. 6.

*I love the acoustic song.[/QUOTE]

First of all I'm giving this a 10!!!

Actually, I have to say... that I personally like how they sung the choruses and the use of the guitar solo in "Leave". (Personally I though it the solo added perfectly!!!) And personally that song is not laid back... it just is in a major and has a slightly slower beat, but it never lacks in energy...

Anyways... I think that this is probably the most catchy peice of music from this year... Instant classic material for sure!!! :D

Posted on 04-11-2009 by mellow_yellow
I gave it an 8. I really enjoy it.

Although, I think I actually prefer their Say No More album.

Posted on 05-13-2009 by fflscw
this is a really great cd! i'd only heard one HoH song before my brother bought this album, so i wasn't sure what it would be like. there isn't a song i don't like, though Baby's a Red can get annoying after a while. my favorites are If, Lose Control, Code Name: Raven, Journey Into Space, and Voices. the style on this one reminds me a little of The Myriad (one of my all time favorite bands), but if you don't like The Myriad that doesn't mean you won't like The End Is Not The End...

Posted on 05-13-2009 by relient nelson
I give this album a nine. The lyrics are very interesting to read. Engaging and at times surprising. As is the music.

I believe it was absolutepunk.net that said "if relient k combine with the beatles (circa Sgt. Peppers) it might sound something like this" which is rather funny to me as I sense a much larger Brian Wilson influence than John and Paul.

Either way, I love the extra effort that was put into the production of this album. The subtle background sounds to the prominent harmonies. Definitely worth picking up this cd.

Posted on 05-16-2010 by Darkhyperchaos
8/10. I personally like it better than their other work, it's overall a great package. Even though I'm not really a fan of House Of Heroes, it's a very enjoyable album.

Posted on 05-22-2009 by akaukal
This is a pretty decent album. Say No More is definitely superior. This album has some pretty decent tunes as well. I'd give it a 7.

Posted on 10-06-2008 by earlessdog
Suggested guide for voting
10 - Amazing CD. Everyone should own it.
9 - Among the best of the year.
8 - One of the top CDs around, but could have been improved in a few places.
7 - Not a bad CD, but could have been better in a number of places.
6 - Pretty good for it's genre, but overall it's only acceptable.
5 - Decent CD, but only if you're a big fan of this genre.
4 - If you love this band, you'll like this CD. Otherwise, probably not.
3 - If you're a fan of this genre, the CD is barely acceptable.
2 - If you're a big fan of this band, this CD is tolerable.
1 - Even if you like this band, you won't like this CD.

Posted on 10-06-2008 by Small
[I]The End Is Not the End[/I] is brilliant.

Lyrically, there isn't much to fault--each song is great as an individual, but they complement each other beautifully and corporately revolve around central themes of finding God, peace and love in chaos and sin, with WWII as a recurring backdrop. The songs tell stories and make complex points without becoming verbose.

Musically, the music manages to be creative without slipping into absurdity for the sake of originality. The vocals are exceptional--exquisite melodies over beautifully performed harmonies in a variety of moods display an incredible versatility in each of the band members. The music itself is catchy and moving without being cheap or appealing to cliche.

Overall, this puppy is a ten.

Posted on 10-06-2008 by RB+Gravity
This album is great. It gets a ten from me too.

Posted on 11-15-2008 by Mr. claw
If you like House of Heroes, I bet this is a great cd. And to be clear I didn't [i]dislike[/i] them at all coming in, I was just sort of lukewarm.

But I despise it. The verses are creative and catchy, but for some reason the band feels very strongly that each chorus must be very loud (and in my opinion, obnoxious) to indicate that it is indeed a chorus. That basically ruins it for me, because I don't like the singer's voice all that much when he gets louder anyway. And throwing guitar solos into relatively laid back songs (leave you know) really spoils them for me. When a song is laid back, leave it that way, unless you can really do something awesome. And even then, don't do it every time.

I can't say it's not well done, it just bugs the crap out of me. 6.

*I love the acoustic song.

Posted on 11-16-2008 by Ordinary Sarah
This album didn't leave my cd player for nearly a month. And I didn't start out as a fan of HoH at all. They've greatly improved on this album, in my opinion.

Posted on 11-16-2008 by 4of5Rocker
A most heartily agree.

Except I had them in my player for a longer amount of time. :D

I got hooked from the valley of the dying sun, and haven't let go yet.

Posted on 11-17-2008 by Mr. claw
[QUOTE=4of5rocker;3341727]
I got hooked from the valley of the dying sun, and haven't let go yet.[/QUOTE]

I love the first part of that song. :D


Complimentary Christian Ringtones
Dadamobile and CGR have teamed up to bring your favorite Christian artists right to your phone. Sign up today and get 10 complementary ringtones!
Tab Country
Did you know CGR has a sister site w/ country guitar tabs? Well we do! Its called Tab Country. It has a great archive with a lot of country tabs.
Rockin Tabs
Are you looking for a site that has rock guitar tabs? Then Rockintabs.com is the place for you. It is a budding site with many rock guitar tabs. Submit your tab today.
Tab Gallery
Tab Gallery has a compilation of christian, rock, and country tabs all in one place. Come visit us.