CD Reviews
(THIRD DAY) OR BY ARTIST NAME (JENNIFER KNAPP)
0-9|A|B|C|D|E|F|G|H|I|J|K|L|M|N|O|P|Q|R|S|T|U|V|W|X|Y|Z

Underoath - Lost In The Sound of Separation



Average User Rating: 8.58 out of 10
Total votes: 12 (Click here to vote)
Total comments: 13

01. Breathing In A New Mentality
02. Anyone Can Dig A Hole But It Takes A Real Man To Call It Home
03. A Fault Line. A Fault Of Mine
04. Emergency Broadcast: The End Is Near
05. The Only Survivor Was Miraculously Unharmed
06. We Are The Involuntary
07. The Created Void
08. Coming Down Is Calming Down
09. Desperate Times, Desperate Measures
10. Too Bright To See, Too Loud To Hear
11. Desolate Earth: The End Is Here


Posted on 05-16-2010 by Darkhyperchaos
6/10. I honestly think Underoath kind of dropped the ball on this one. Not a whole lot of the songs really capture my attention. And it sounds like they're trying to be heavier just for the sake of being heavier, it sounds somewhat forced. I think They're Only Chasing Safety and Define The Great Line are both a lot better.

Posted on 09-24-2008 by earlessdog
Suggested guide for voting
10 - Amazing CD. Everyone should own it.
9 - Among the best of the year.
8 - One of the top CDs around, but could have been improved in a few places.
7 - Not a bad CD, but could have been better in a number of places.
6 - Pretty good for it's genre, but overall it's only acceptable.
5 - Decent CD, but only if you're a big fan of this genre.
4 - If you love this band, you'll like this CD. Otherwise, probably not.
3 - If you're a fan of this genre, the CD is barely acceptable.
2 - If you're a big fan of this band, this CD is tolerable.
1 - Even if you like this band, you won't like this CD.

Posted on 09-24-2008 by Uptown Thrunk
I give it a 9.

And a 9 because of only one flaw, which isn't really a flaw: a few of the riffs sounded very similar to DTGL. But after listening to it for almost a month now, i barely notice.

Great cd.

First time in two years I have put down Coheed and Cambria. Thanks Underoath. You saved me.

Posted on 09-24-2008 by earlessdog
I listened to it twice now (just got it).

I think it is their heaviest in several years, but it's also slow.
Thats my main thing I have against this so far, its not as upbeat as what it feels like it should be, even though its heavier and the drumming is better, its just not fast enough.

Another little thing, i'm starting to get annoyed of Aarons vocals, but thats just what Underoath is. I'll get over it.

There seems to be a little too much resemblance to DTGL, regardless this could be their best release. Lyrics are awesome, seem quite personal.

I'll give it some more close listenings and leave a full review.

Posted on 09-24-2008 by Uptown Thrunk
I kinda felt the same way the first few time through it, but the more I listen the more I like it.

Te vocals are great, his screaming is a little more diverse than DTGL (to me) and I like the parts where Spencer sings, those little bursts in between screams.

But, the guitar playing and the over all approach they took creatively seems a little better. Although, as any band, they do play into the same structure, somettimes, and use the same tricks, I just like this one better.

Plus, the guitar tones sound so much better on this one. I can't really describe it. LIke the mids were turned way up or something. idk.

Overall great.

Though, I haven't noticed the slowness as much as you. Granted, they have quite a few slow songs, but they are still brutal.

Posted on 09-24-2008 by Mr. claw
The first two songs are very fast put next to DtGL's first two songs.

I'll probably end up giving this a nine. Very solid, I think this is just UO in their element. My biggest beef is that for the most part, the singing and the screaming are more noticeably separated. In DtGL, they switched back and forth like lightning.

Also..."the Only Survivor".....I realllly wished they would not have gone soft with that song. I love the outro, but at least throw in something heavy at the end. The song changes pace too violently.

Posted on 09-24-2008 by akaukal
I think the singing and screaming seem more separated because the songs aren't quite as fast paced as DTGL.

This is a great album. I give it an 8.

It just didn't have the "HOLY CRAP" factor that DTGL did.

Posted on 09-25-2008 by Mr. claw
I can't say I expected them to duplicate it, honestly. That was my first really heavy cd, honestly.

And it was like...."yes....yes".

Posted on 10-11-2008 by AudioAUnderdog
I just posted a complete review on my blog if anyone wants to take a look at it.

[URL="http://myccmorg.ning.com/profiles/blog/show?id=2221248%3ABlogPost%3A8178"]http://myccmorg.ning.com/profiles/blog/show?id=2221248%3ABlogPost%3A8178[/URL]

Posted on 10-11-2008 by tmlfan123
I gave it an 8. The lyrics are much improved, but the almost frantic, hurried quality to the screaming and drumming in the first two songs in particular dragged it down a bit for me. "Too Bright To See, Too Loud To Hear" is by far the best song on the CD, and "A Fault Line. A Fault Of Mine" is great as well. It is about on par with DTGL.

Posted on 10-14-2008 by ice_wiz
I gave it a 9.

It is a good as anything I've heard yet this year, and Spencer proves once again he is the man.

Posted on 10-14-2008 by 4of5Rocker
I really enjoy this CD, but I don't think it's better than DTGL, but still amazing. I gave it a nine.

Posted on 12-02-2010 by guitarfreak846
What a phenomenal album! There new one is amazing!


Complimentary Christian Ringtones
Dadamobile and CGR have teamed up to bring your favorite Christian artists right to your phone. Sign up today and get 10 complementary ringtones!
Tab Country
Did you know CGR has a sister site w/ country guitar tabs? Well we do! Its called Tab Country. It has a great archive with a lot of country tabs.
Rockin Tabs
Are you looking for a site that has rock guitar tabs? Then Rockintabs.com is the place for you. It is a budding site with many rock guitar tabs. Submit your tab today.
Tab Gallery
Tab Gallery has a compilation of christian, rock, and country tabs all in one place. Come visit us.