CD Reviews
(THIRD DAY) OR BY ARTIST NAME (JENNIFER KNAPP)
0-9|A|B|C|D|E|F|G|H|I|J|K|L|M|N|O|P|Q|R|S|T|U|V|W|X|Y|Z

Secret and Whisper - Great White Whle



Average User Rating: 8.86 out of 10
Total votes: 7 (Click here to vote)
Total comments: 8

01. Blonde Monster
02. You Are Familiar
03. Vanishings
04. XOXOXO
05. The Actress
06. Spider Besider
07. Looming Moon
08. Attacker
09. Anchors
10. Werewolves
11. Lovers
12. Great White Whale


Posted on 05-09-2008 by earlessdog
Suggested guide for voting
10 - Amazing CD. Everyone should own it.
9 - Among the best of the year.
8 - One of the top CDs around, but could have been improved in a few places.
7 - Not a bad CD, but could have been better in a number of places.
6 - Pretty good for it's genre, but overall it's only acceptable.
5 - Decent CD, but only if you're a big fan of this genre.
4 - If you love this band, you'll like this CD. Otherwise, probably not.
3 - If you're a fan of this genre, the CD is barely acceptable.
2 - If you're a big fan of this band, this CD is tolerable.
1 - Even if you like this band, you won't like this CD.

Posted on 05-09-2008 by Skater91
The best cd Ive got in a long time, I love it. If you like Saosin you should love this band. Everyone should check them out. Thanks Earlessdog for putting this up!

Posted on 05-10-2008 by Epilogue
Pretty much amazing. The intros on XOXOXO, Vanishings, Lovers, You Are Familiar, and Attacker are all amazing. Verses and choruses are lost in the mix, and most of them sound the same (the 'Attacker' chorus is pretty catchy, as is the hyper-catchy prechorus of XOXOXO). Overall pretty good. Lyrics could use work on...far too abstract for thier own good, and does not provide enough lyrics to chew on. Mainly just lyrics to scratch your head ('...the animals are gathering, to take revenge, for kidnapping, thier gentle sound...'). Overall, I liked it a lot though. I gave it a 9.

Posted on 05-16-2010 by Darkhyperchaos
9/10. Vocals can get a little annoying, but it makes up for it by having some of the best opening riffs I've ever heard in my life! I agree with Epilogue, XOXOXO, Vanishings, Lovers, Your Are Familiar, and Attacker all have face shattering opening riffs. The vocals don't win any awards, but they aren't too bad, the instruments on the other hand make this a must have album.

Posted on 06-30-2010 by OpMoc
They really have mastered the genre of rock. They are very original and musically dynamic. They have it all-insane vocals, killer riffs, heartfelt lyrics, and epic songs.

Too many people call them a Saosin clone. However, musicians know this to be false. Secret and Whisper is heavier and uses different keys than saosin. Secret and Whisper also uses many more ambient sounds-such as delay and reverb while Saosin is a little more straight forward. The similarities are mainly due to the dynamic vocal style-which i believe is due to a lack of vocalists that can pull it off. They are in the same genre but not clones.

If you love original music-secret and whisper is your band

Posted on 06-30-2010 by Ethan.Bassist.
I love S&W because I've drifted away from screamo and hardcore stuff, but I love the fact that the lyrics aren't screamed like Underoath and stuff. I like the vocal style. And it's coupled with the hardcore ish style music that I still enjoy. Super riffs, heavy hitting bass/drums. It's great! If that stuff made sense.

*Edit* I just realized this is a pretty old thread. My bad. It was just sitting there though right in plain sight haha...

Posted on 06-30-2010 by earlessdog
You don't have to worry about resurrecting old threads in the CD Reviews, you can revive something that hasn't been posted in in 9 years if you want, CD Reviews is an exception.

Posted on 07-01-2010 by Ethan.Bassist.
[QUOTE=earlessdog;3572542]You don't have to worry about resurrecting old threads in the CD Reviews, you can revive something that hasn't been posted in in 9 years if you want, CD Reviews is an exception.[/QUOTE]

Phew close one, thanks! :D


Complimentary Christian Ringtones
Dadamobile and CGR have teamed up to bring your favorite Christian artists right to your phone. Sign up today and get 10 complementary ringtones!
Tab Country
Did you know CGR has a sister site w/ country guitar tabs? Well we do! Its called Tab Country. It has a great archive with a lot of country tabs.
Rockin Tabs
Are you looking for a site that has rock guitar tabs? Then Rockintabs.com is the place for you. It is a budding site with many rock guitar tabs. Submit your tab today.
Tab Gallery
Tab Gallery has a compilation of christian, rock, and country tabs all in one place. Come visit us.