CD Reviews
(THIRD DAY) OR BY ARTIST NAME (JENNIFER KNAPP)
0-9|A|B|C|D|E|F|G|H|I|J|K|L|M|N|O|P|Q|R|S|T|U|V|W|X|Y|Z

Immortal Souls - Wintereich



Average User Rating: 9.5 out of 10
Total votes: 2 (Click here to vote)
Total comments: 8

01. Nightfrost
02. Feareaper
03. Frozen Inside
04. Icon of Ice
05. Color of My Sky
06. Constant
07. Idlestate
08. Heart of Cold
09. Winter of My Discontent
10. Black Water
11. Wintereich


Posted on 02-10-2008 by earlessdog
Suggested guide for voting
10 - Amazing CD. Everyone should own it.
9 - Among the best of the year.
8 - One of the top CDs around, but could have been improved in a few places.
7 - Not a bad CD, but could have been better in a number of places.
6 - Pretty good for it's genre, but overall it's only acceptable.
5 - Decent CD, but only if you're a big fan of this genre.
4 - If you love this band, you'll like this CD. Otherwise, probably not.
3 - If you're a fan of this genre, the CD is barely acceptable.
2 - If you're a big fan of this band, this CD is tolerable

Posted on 02-10-2008 by Mr. claw
I've 3 or 4 songs, and instrumentally it's amazing. But the vocals were just terrible to me.

Posted on 02-11-2008 by Mistidon
I loved the vocals on this album! He has great tone, and variety. He also has very good intonation, unlike some bands where you can't understand a word they are saying. The clean vocals on Wintereich and Black water are excellent as well.

This is probably my favorite album of 2008, good variety, excellent guitar work, and great lyrics. It's kind of a semi-concept album, the cd is divided into a couple parts, and they outline a journey from salvation to death. It's very well done, subtle, until it all comes together on the final track. The CD starts out with "Nightfrost" witch itself begins with a really fast riff, and the speed is kept up through the whole song, excellent guitar work on this song, with a very solid solo too. The song moves at a good pace, driven by Kronqvist's quick double bass beats, and has a nice catchy chorus and a great almost thrashy melody behind it. All in all a great start to the album. The second song "Feareaper" is just as fast as "Nightfrost" with a cool, almost syncopated pre-chorus, at first the song is a little too similar to Nightfrost, and then the killer bridge comes in, heavy guitar riffs driven first by just cymbals, then some snare, and then a double bass beat as A. Sarkioja chants "Layer of Man, Layer of Man, Layer of Judas, Layer of Jesus" and then blasts into another killer guitar solo, before going back into the pre-chorus. A great song, and one of my favorites on the album. It fades out to "Frozen Inside" which has an old-school feeling to it, reminds me of Winterheart on their last album (Under the Northern Sky) A. Sarkioja switches to an almost black metal style scream, and it complements the melody on the chorus perfectly, another very solid song, a little bland maybe, but not bad by any means. That song marks the end of the first "chapter" of the album (The Awakening). "Icon of Ice" starts the second chapter (Reflections of Doom) with an interesting chord scheme, and then an awesome almost bass solo before the verse, which keeps up the quick melodic feel, before switching to a doomy pre-chorus, with a fast chorus again. The guitar solo in this song is pretty good, not outstanding. By now the quick melodic riffs are wearing thin, but thats alright because "Color of My Sky" Mixes it up a bit :) "Color of My Sky" opens with a quick drum fill before settling into a plam-muted intro, into a melodic pre-verse, before slipping back into the palm-muted riff again. The song switches between those of few more times, then opens to another great chorus, with yet another great melody behind, and some great vocals. At first it seems to have settled back into the previous pattern before switching to the doom/solo bridge, with some truly amazing guitar work, layed over a great almost breakdowny rhythym. It flips back over to the melodic chorus again, and the song ends with the same palm-muted intro riff. I love the imagery in this song, really cool lyrics. "Constant" is next, and returns to the fast melodic style they're so talented at. A good song, but doesn't really stand out, the verse is pretty good, and it has an excellent bridge, with a nice harmonized guitar part, but other then that, one of the weaker songs on the album in my opinion, but that's all right, because next is "Idlestate" and it's one of the best tracks on the CD. Idlestate marks the beggining of the "Valley of the Shadow of Death" chapter, and it lives up to it's name. It starts with a bit of static, and a single palm-muted guitar in the background, then a second guitar comes in for a few seconds before blasting into another great doom intro, with an eerie melody behind it, this goes on for a bit, and then the second guitar falls into the lead's riff, and the lead harminized with it, then the verse starts, the guitar drops back into blazingly fast palm-muting, with A. Sarkioja doing some of his best lows on his album over it. The pre-chorus is equally fast, with a single chord played tremolo, while the other instruments back up A. Sarkioja's voice with some chrushing chords. The lyrics are suitably creepy (Day pass away from the light into night. In mourning idlestate of my brain.) before it opens into the slow chorus, with more great lyrics
(I submit myself for thee.
I resist so it would flee.)
It goes back into the doomy intro, before settling into verse/fill/verse/pre-chorus/chorus again, when the song seems to fade out... before the bass comes back in for a couple seconds, as the lead guitar simply [i]screams[i/] it's way back to the front while the other instruments drop into a faster version of the beginning riff behind the best guitar solo of the CD. After this they play the chorus one more time and then really fade out. The next song "Heart of Cold" is another oldschool type song, opening with a nice harmonized intro, then another good melodic verse, very driving, excellent drums on this song, it plays the verse and chorus twice before the bridge, which is another good slow tempo one, the guitar coming into a slide, before playing a breakdown of the earlier riff, and then another solid solo, they cycle through the chorus again, before starting a great breakdown, A. Sarkioja growling "I am cold" over another great solo and the song fades out. "Winter of my Discontent" Another one of the better songs, it starts with a palmuted intro, and drops into another excellent fast melodic verse/chorus, with more harmonized guitars. The bridge has a sort of harmonized/breakdowny feel, these two guitarist really just mesh together perfectly. The chorus on this song is one of my favorites, with more great imagery in the lyrics. I seriously get cold listening to the album, the lyrics are that descriptive of the northern wilderness :D "Black Water" is next, which is one of the two tracks with guest vocals. This is my 2nd favorite song of the album I think, the verse is quick, with fast palm-muted chords over a creepy melody, before switching to a slower chorus with the fantastic clean vocals by Kimmo Pulkinen laid over more great harmonies. This repeats again, and then switches to a great guitar solo, before a slowing way down for an eerie harmonized bridge, then the chorus comes back in, and the song ends with a quick melodic riff, and then a slower palmuted version of it. "Wintereich" is the last song on the album and they definetly saved the best for last. It comes in with a slow bass intro before the lead guitar comes in to harmonize with it, while the rhythym guitars are laid over. It speeds up for the first half verse, with more great bass work. Then it switches over to a quick fill, before the fast palm-muted 2nd half, with A. Sarkioja doing more of the great higher black metal-esque vocals, the pre-chorus with creepy echoes ("Come my child don't fear to enter into my domain.") then drops into the chorus with A. Sarkioja (still doing the echoey black metal type vocals) and Kimmo trading off lines, Kimmo's voice complents A. Sarkioja's wonderfully here. Then it goes into the great beggining bass/lead guitar harmonized part before cycling through the verse and chorus again. The bridge is next which is great, the rythym in bass playing the riff from the beggining, while the lead plays long chords over it, before switching to a harmonized part, then opening to a solo, while the rhythym plays the long chords and the bass fills in between. Then it goes straight back into the chorus, which plays once with the same lines as before, then switches to lines from each of the songs in the previous chapters, tying them into the whole. The song ends with a slow doomy bit fading to the bass playing the begging riff, with the guitars harmonizing chords over it. It's a fantastic song and the perfect end to the album. Worth mentioning also is the lyric book, it's desiegned very well, with summaries stringing the songs together at the beggining of each "chapter" of the album, and some truly beautiful landscapes taken by Tomi Hilli. Definitley a must buy for melodic metal fans, death metal fans, and even some black metal fans :)

Posted on 02-11-2008 by earlessdog
[QUOTE=Mistidon;3166137]"The incredibly long and thorough review"[/QUOTE]

Well that is sure the longest review i've ever read, great job on describing the album, after reading that I've decided I am getting the album for sure.

You (Mistidon) should write for a metal magazine or something.

Posted on 02-11-2008 by Mistidon
Lol, I wish, I just really liked the CD and couldn't think of a better reveiw then to analyze each song in detail :D
and yeah, you should definetly get it, it's amazing, my favorite CD by them.

Posted on 02-21-2009 by Iuyioo070
Recently, PC game becomes more and more [url=http://www.wowpl.de]wow gold[/url], popular. Many students like to play it. And it cause some problems of society. Some adult began to criticize PC game. They said that students were addicted to PC game. So they didn't pay attention to their study. Thus people should forbid [url=http://www.wowleveln.de]wow gold[/url], students to play PC game. But in my opinon, PC game has its advantage. When you are playing it ,you will think how to play the game, how to win the game, it helps you think much. And, it will help people to learn about some knoeledge of computer, and improve your typing speed. So PC game has its advantage and disadvantage. And wo should treat [url=http://www.maplestorymesosshop.com/cheap-maple-story-power-leveling.asp]maple story powerleveling[/url], it carefully. Don't eliminate it blindly. Recently, PC game becomes more and more popular. Many students like to play it. And it cause some problems of society. Some adult began to criticize PC game. They said that students were addicted to PC game. So they didn't pay attention to their study. Thus people should forbid students to play PC game. But in my opinon, PC game has its advantage. When you are playing it ,you will think how to play the game, how to win the game, it helps you think much. And, it will help people to learn about some knoeledge of computer, and improve your typing speed. So PC game has its advantage and disadvantage. And wo should [url=http://www.maplestorymesosstore.com/maple-story-power-leveling-services.asp]maple story powerleveling[/url], treat it carefully. Don't eliminate it blindly. Recently, PC game becomes more and more popular. Many students like to play it. And it cause some problems of society. Some adult began to criticize PC game. They said that students were addicted to PC game. So they didn't pay attention to their study. Thus people should forbid students to play PC game. But in my opinon, PC game has its advantage. When you are playing it ,you [url=http://www.mesosoon.com/maple-story-power-leveling.asp]maple story powerleveling[/url], will think how to play the game, how to win the game, it helps you think much. And, it will help people to learn about some knoeledge of computer, and improve your typing speed. So PC game has its advantage and disadvantage. And wo should treat it carefully. Don't

Posted on 05-16-2010 by Darkhyperchaos
9/10. Flawless in almost every way! Finally some Christian death metal that stands up to secular death metal. The only thing that keeps it from a 10 is the vocals, which I think are great, just not superb.

Posted on 11-13-2014 by asad122
Suggested guide for voting
10 - Amazing CD. Everyone should own it.
9 - Among the best of the year.
8 - One of the top CDs around, but could have been improved in a few places.
7 - Not a bad CD, but could have been better in a number of places.
6 - Pretty good for it's genre, but overall it's only acceptable.
5 - Decent CD, but only if you're a big fan of this genre.
4 - If you love this band, you'll like this CD. Otherwise, probably not.
3 - If you're a fan of this genre, the CD is barely acceptable.
2 - If you're a big fan of this band, this CD is tolerable

___________
noor


Complimentary Christian Ringtones
Dadamobile and CGR have teamed up to bring your favorite Christian artists right to your phone. Sign up today and get 10 complementary ringtones!
Tab Country
Did you know CGR has a sister site w/ country guitar tabs? Well we do! Its called Tab Country. It has a great archive with a lot of country tabs.
Rockin Tabs
Are you looking for a site that has rock guitar tabs? Then Rockintabs.com is the place for you. It is a budding site with many rock guitar tabs. Submit your tab today.
Tab Gallery
Tab Gallery has a compilation of christian, rock, and country tabs all in one place. Come visit us.