CD Reviews
(THIRD DAY) OR BY ARTIST NAME (JENNIFER KNAPP)
0-9|A|B|C|D|E|F|G|H|I|J|K|L|M|N|O|P|Q|R|S|T|U|V|W|X|Y|Z

Pillar-The Reckoning



Average User Rating: 7.64 out of 10
Total votes: 22 (Click here to vote)
Total comments: 51

[B]Tracks[/B]
1. Everything
2. Awake
3. When Tomorrow Comes
4. The Reckoning
5. Tragedy
6. Last Goodbye
7. Angel In Disguise
8. Elysian
9. Crossfire
10. Resolution
11. Sometimes
12. Wherever The Wind Blows
13. Chasing Shadows At Midnight


Posted on 02-27-2007 by Sith of blades
[QUOTE=akaukal;2708529]Pillar says this is their best album so it is? That's just stupid. To THEM, it's their best cd. To my friend, Fireproof is their best, to my other friend, Where Do We Go From Here? is their best, and to me, The Reckoning is the best. IT IS ALL A MATTER OF OPINION.[/QUOTE]I think you all think too much...lol.

I think it's a good cd, well done. I might say Were do we go from here? Was a little better, but I'm not sure. They both tie. Easily better than FireProofe though.

Posted on 02-27-2007 by switchfootprson
I love it! 9/10

Posted on 02-27-2007 by DKelly
I finally got around to hearing this.


Overall, I give it a 4. Some of the songs are decent(like "Everything" and "The Reckoning"), but for the most part, it bores me to tears. Nothing out of the ordinary that catches my ear and two of the songs("When Tomorrow Comes" and "Angel In Disguise") have some of the cheesiest and most repetitive lyrics I have ever heard.

Posted on 03-04-2007 by conceived in fire
[QUOTE=DKelly;2818488]
Overall, I give it a 4. Some of the songs are decent(like "Everything" and "The Reckoning"), but for the most part, it bores me to tears. Nothing out of the ordinary that catches my ear and two of the songs("When Tomorrow Comes" and "Angel In Disguise") have some of the cheesiest and most repetitive lyrics I have ever heard.[/QUOTE]
I honestly haven't heard the entire album, but that's because I agree with what you said. After hearing 1:30 long samples of each song at Evangel, I knew I didn't want this. Fireproof was near incredible, Where Do We Go From Here had mostly good songs, but now they're finally gone. However, "Tragedy" does have (one of) the best Pillar intro(s) ever.

Posted on 03-23-2007 by Enchiladaman
I listen to this cd a lot. It is really good. I haven't listen to Pillar's other cds though. Some of these songs make my favorites.

Posted on 04-02-2007 by Adam K
I give it an 8. Crossfire is completely awesome.

Posted on 04-04-2007 by AudioACanuck
I haven't heard the full thing but what I heard is really cool, so I gave it and 8.

Posted on 04-10-2008 by Te eF Kay
I just bought it today and I'm not actually liking it that much at the moment. :-/

Posted on 06-24-2007 by Da Rock\
The Reckoning is easily their best CD, if Pillar wasnt getting better and maturing( as most bands do until they get [I]old[/I]), then id be worried :( .

Posted on 07-12-2007 by schecter777
My favorite Pillar CD so far. Top songs are "Awake," "Crossfire," "Wherever The Wind Blows."

Posted on 08-06-2008 by Guitar Hero743
Awesome Cd

Posted on 08-06-2008 by CDBongo
imo pillar needs to take more time on their albums. The last few of pillars cds could have / should have been condensed down into one album with all the mediocre/unoriginal content taken out. Not that this cd or any of their other cd's are bad, they just could be better. On that note I'll give this cd a 6.5 rounded down to 6

Posted on 10-28-2006 by tl_guitarnut
Awsome cd. 10/10.

Posted on 10-28-2006 by akaukal
This album changed my opinion of Pillar. 'Tragedy' is a simply amazing track. 9/10.

Posted on 10-28-2006 by ice_wiz
I love this album, definately better than WDWGFH?.

Posted on 10-30-2007 by conceived in fire
I went and listened to this again because I'm planning to review it on Sputnikmusic.com, and was completely surprised to actually enjoy several songs. I'll need to give it a few more listens before I'm ready to write the full review, but will most likely give it a 3 out of 5 (with 2.5 meaning "average" on the rating scale).

It's not the style (or quality imo) of Fireproof, but why should we be expecting it to be?

Edit: the review is finished, and as with anything I'd appreciate feedback.

Posted on 10-31-2006 by monkeysmile
Pillar is absolutely awesome..amazing cd.10/10 for sure.

Posted on 11-02-2006 by zero91
this is a great cd! i gave it a 9/10 because i dont like some of the slower songs that much, i cant remember which ones. still an awesome cd. i think "awake" and "tragedy" are my current favorites.

Posted on 11-02-2006 by SwitchfootRulz!
8. Great CD! :yep:

Posted on 11-03-2006 by normajean777
i bought a song from it. The hard one.

Posted on 11-03-2006 by nbfan
9/10. Definetely their best since Fireproof. WDWGFH? was like a step backward, and with that CD, they sounded like every other hard rock band. This was almost as good as Fireproof.

Posted on 11-06-2006 by earlessdog
9 for me
i'm not hte biggest fan, but i have to look at the songwriting, very well done. So 9 for me. Good ol' pillar

Posted on 11-20-2006 by drummer97g
I dont really like when people say that they think fireproof was a better cd then where do we go from here. I mean, dont get me wrong, fireproof was a great album, but, as most bands do, pillar gets better and better with every cd. up untill they have made about 5 or 6 cds, they continually mature in their songwriting and their talents. wdwgfh is a lot heavier then fireproof, and fireproof was obviously a lot heavier then above. with each cd they continue to prgress as musicians.

Posted on 11-20-2006 by tl_guitarnut
Its all a matter of opinion. If someone thinks fireproof is better to them then its better to them.

Posted on 12-02-2006 by monkeysmile
[QUOTE=tl_guitarnut;2686865]Its all a matter of opinion. If someone thinks fireproof is better to them then its better to them.[/QUOTE]

Not really...The Reckoning is their best CD,the song writing and musicianship are the best Pillars had.

Posted on 12-03-2006 by DKelly
[QUOTE=monkeysmile;2702100]Not really...The Reckoning is their best CD,the song writing and musicianship are the best Pillars had.[/QUOTE]


That [i]is[/i] your opinion, though...

Posted on 12-03-2006 by monkeysmile
[QUOTE=DKelly;2702307]That [i]is[/i] your opinion, though...[/QUOTE]

And Pillars.

Posted on 12-03-2006 by DKelly
[QUOTE=monkeysmile;2702310]And Pillars.[/QUOTE]


Jon Foreman from Switchfoot claimed [i]Nothing Is Sound[/i] was the best album they had written up till then, and it sucked more than any of their other CDs.

Posted on 12-03-2006 by monkeysmile
[QUOTE=DKelly;2702323]Jon Foreman from Switchfoot claimed [i]Nothing Is Sound[/i] was the best album they had written up till then, and it sucked more than any of their other CDs.[/QUOTE]

Oh yeah.....oh yeah....um..did he really say that?

Posted on 12-03-2006 by DKelly
[QUOTE=monkeysmile;2702325]Oh yeah.....oh yeah....um..did he really say that?[/QUOTE]

Um, yes.

Posted on 12-03-2006 by monkeysmile
It must have been better than.

Posted on 12-03-2006 by DKelly
Trust me, it wasn't. It was their least creative effort and Jon's lyrics were relatively bland except for "Easier Than Love". Simply put, it sucked.

Posted on 12-03-2006 by tl_guitarnut
Back to Pillar. My opinion is that this is hands down their best cd. Rob has really matured as a vocalist and the production is some of the best I've ever heard.

Posted on 12-03-2006 by monkeysmile
[QUOTE=tl_guitarnut;2702533]Back to Pillar. My opinion is that this is hands down their best cd. Rob has really matured as a vocalist and the production is some of the best I've ever heard.[/QUOTE]

Well put.

Posted on 12-03-2006 by DKelly
I haven't heard this CD yet, but "Everything" was decent.

Posted on 12-03-2006 by monkeysmile
[QUOTE=DKelly;2702563]I haven't heard this CD yet, but "Everything" was decent.[/QUOTE]

:o You haven't heard it!? :cry:

Posted on 12-03-2006 by DKelly
[QUOTE=monkeysmile;2702590]:o You haven't heard it!? :cry:[/QUOTE]



Not yet. And the scary thing is, my dad doesn't even have it yet. He loves Pillar.

Posted on 12-03-2006 by monkeysmile
[QUOTE=DKelly;2702604]Not yet. And the scary thing is, my dad doesn't even have it yet. He loves Pillar.[/QUOTE]

It's really good, Awake,Tragedy,Crossfire,Resolution,Wherever The Wind Blows......all the songs are good.

Posted on 12-04-2006 by akaukal
[QUOTE=monkeysmile;2702310]And Pillars.[/QUOTE]

You do know that just because this is Pillar's fav album of theirs doesn't make it their best, right? I like this album the most out of all of theirs, but my friends thinks Fireproof is better. So, in his opinion, Fireproof is the best. He doesn't care at all if it isn't Pillar's. :rolleyes:

Posted on 12-04-2006 by monkeysmile
[QUOTE=akaukal;2703485]You do know that just because this is Pillar's fav album of theirs doesn't make it their best, right? I like this album the most out of all of theirs, but my friends thinks Fireproof is better. So, in his opinion, Fireproof is the best. He doesn't care at all if it isn't Pillar's. :rolleyes:[/QUOTE]

They didn't just say it was their favorite,they said it was the best musically and with better songwriting.Besides, it isn't just because they say so,it's because it is....I like A&W root beer more than Mug root beer,Mug won the 2006 best taste award.(that was a lame analogy,but it's true.)

Posted on 12-04-2006 by switchfootprson
I was going to see pillar at Aquire the Fire, but we had to be evacuated. We never saw them

Posted on 12-04-2006 by DKelly
[QUOTE=monkeysmile;2703491]They didn't just say it was their favorite,they said it was the best musically and with better songwriting.Besides, it isn't just because they say so,it's because it is....I like A&W root beer more than Mug root beer,Mug won the 2006 best taste award.(that was a lame analogy,but it's true.)[/QUOTE]


That's their opinion and they are entitled to it. It may not be the correct opinion though... ;)

Posted on 12-04-2006 by monkeysmile
[QUOTE=DKelly;2703560]That's their opinion and they are entitled to it. It may not be the correct opinion though... ;)[/QUOTE]

It's my opinion,and bobthecockroach said i pwn....therefore it is the best.:cool:
:lol:

Posted on 12-04-2006 by zero91
back on topic, the more i listen to this cd the more i like it! the only song i'm not wild about right now is crossfire but its not that bad. this is truly a great cd. i really like a lot of the guitar work on here too.

Posted on 12-04-2006 by tl_guitarnut
Yeah, Noahs really good.

Posted on 12-07-2006 by drummer97g
[QUOTE=DKelly;2703560]That's their opinion and they are entitled to it. It may not be the correct opinion though... ;)[/QUOTE]

Ok, Im sorry, this one really made me laugh. ok lets break it down shall we... " Thats thier opinion", who is "thier" in this case...Pillar. So lets reword this. "that's [Pillar's] opinion and [Pillar] is entitled to it." Yes i do believe that Pillars is entitled to make thier own opinions about their own cd. now lets get to the other half of this statement... "It may not be the correct opinion". Ok, so here is where i get a little confused. It's [B]PILLAR'S[/B] cd, [B]THEY[/B] made an opinion about [B]THIER[/B] cd saying that [B]THIER[/B] cd was the best cd that [B]THEY[/B] ever made. how is that not the correct opinion about [B]PILLAR'S[/B] cd?

Posted on 12-07-2006 by tl_guitarnut
Dude, you think way too much. That is [B]Pillar's[/B] opinion. If they make a cd and like it the best, then they like it the best. If Pillar says something we don't need to agree with them. Its all about the music.

Posted on 12-07-2006 by akaukal
[QUOTE=drummer97g;2708456]Ok, Im sorry, this one really made me laugh. ok lets break it down shall we... " Thats thier opinion", who is "thier" in this case...Pillar. So lets reword this. "that's [Pillar's] opinion and [Pillar] is entitled to it." Yes i do believe that Pillars is entitled to make thier own opinions about their own cd. now lets get to the other half of this statement... "It may not be the correct opinion". Ok, so here is where i get a little confused. It's [B]PILLAR'S[/B] cd, [B]THEY[/B] made an opinion about [B]THIER[/B] cd saying that [B]THIER[/B] cd was the best cd that [B]THEY[/B] ever made. how is that not the correct opinion about [B]PILLAR'S[/B] cd?[/QUOTE]

Pillar says this is their best album so it is? That's just stupid. To THEM, it's their best cd. To my friend, Fireproof is their best, to my other friend, Where Do We Go From Here? is their best, and to me, The Reckoning is the best. IT IS ALL A MATTER OF OPINION.

Posted on 12-16-2006 by guitarguy90
Hmmmm....sounds like a pretty good CD. I guess I should go buy it.

Posted on 12-16-2008 by telestarjammer
This album seemed very mediocre to me. Apart from Chasing Shadows at Midnight their was nothing memorable about the album like their was on WDWGFH and Fireproof. I kind of liked the instrumental song too. By the way, I don't know of any band that doesn't say their new album is their best. They just say that to rack up the sales. Again, not a bad album but in my opinion they have written much better songs then these.

Posted on 12-25-2006 by Mr. claw
Yet another digital drink coaster from pillar. I don't know if it's the vocals, the really loud snare(even if it sounds good), or the still remaining, subtle rappishness about the way he sings, but I just can't like pillar. I liked Bring me down at first, because it was intense, but after you a hear good hardcore band or two, it's just a snooze fest. I like crossfire. The rest is just ok. I did like the lyrics more this time around. But not enough to justify my buying this.
Personally, I give it a 4.5. As a critic, I'll have to give it a seven. Only because of the decent guitar solos in this one. Sorry for being a hater.


Complimentary Christian Ringtones
Dadamobile and CGR have teamed up to bring your favorite Christian artists right to your phone. Sign up today and get 10 complementary ringtones!
Tab Country
Did you know CGR has a sister site w/ country guitar tabs? Well we do! Its called Tab Country. It has a great archive with a lot of country tabs.
Rockin Tabs
Are you looking for a site that has rock guitar tabs? Then Rockintabs.com is the place for you. It is a budding site with many rock guitar tabs. Submit your tab today.
Tab Gallery
Tab Gallery has a compilation of christian, rock, and country tabs all in one place. Come visit us.