CD Reviews
(THIRD DAY) OR BY ARTIST NAME (JENNIFER KNAPP)
0-9|A|B|C|D|E|F|G|H|I|J|K|L|M|N|O|P|Q|R|S|T|U|V|W|X|Y|Z

Switchfoot-Nothing is Sound



Average User Rating: 8.14 out of 10
Total votes: 37 (Click here to vote)
Total comments: 32

[B]Tracks[/B]
1. Lonely Nation
2. Stars
3. Happy Is A Yuppie World
4. The Shadow Proves The Sunlight
5. Easier Than Love
6. The Blues
7. The Setting Sun
8. Politicians
9. Golden
10. The Fatal Wound
11. We Are One Tonight
12. Daisy


Posted on 03-15-2007 by Adam K
I really like this Cd. "Stars" is awesome, but after you hear it for the 1,000,000th time, it gets old.

Posted on 04-23-2007 by LC7rock
This is Switchfoot's best!! Man that stupid Watch the Movie video from back in the day is their worst. And Oh Gravity is annoying.

Posted on 05-06-2007 by Naragrath
The Beautiful Letdown has the MOST songs I like, but NIS has the some of the best songs they've ever made. 'Stars', to me, never gets old (Jon's voice is used to his best in the verses - they don't allow him to sound too sleepy, and he has been accused of sounding sleepy plenty of times before), 'We Are One Tonight' is freakishly catchy, and 'Lonely Nation', 'Politicians', and 'Shadow Proves the Sunshine' are just amazing. A lot of stinker songs, but the good ones really make up for it.
Jdc
Oh, and I hate 'The Fatal Wound'

Posted on 05-06-2007 by switchfootprson
Good music, depressing lyrics. TBL was better, but I liked some of the tracks like Stars, Shadow Proves the Sunshine, The Setting Sun, and We are One Tonight. I give it a 9.

Posted on 06-26-2007 by i_am_a_pirate
[QUOTE=DKelly;2636447]This CD is a letdown to me for Switchfoot. There are some great songs on this CD("Politicians", "Lonely Nation", and "Easier Than Love"), but other than those three, these songs are mediocre to average. I'm praying that [i]Oh! Gravity[/i] will be what [i]Nothing Is Sound[/i] should have been.


I give it a 6.[/QUOTE]

i completely agree with you only my finger slipped and i gave it a 3 :S

Posted on 06-27-2007 by Dr. Knownothing
5, Switchfoot is much better than this CD lets on. Stars is great. Daisy is great. The Blues is great. The rest is forgettable. But, this CD was really a transition period for Switchfoot. They came back hard with Oh! Gravity.

-dr

Posted on 06-28-2007 by Oh!Gravity
I do like this CD, but I don't love it. It's not their best, and with the direction Switchfoot is taking with Oh! Gravity, Beautiful Letdown will always be the best. There are the standout tracks like Stars, Easier Than Love, and We Are One Tonight. Unfortunately, mediocrity loomed over the rest of the songs, IMO.

Posted on 07-16-2007 by schecter777
Doesn't top TBL, but still pretty good. Top songs are "We Are One Tonight," "Politicians," "Stars."

Posted on 08-23-2007 by Kristen'sGuitar
I give it a 9. Lots of heart-felt songs and some great rockin' ones. I was just mad that it wouldn't let me put it into iTunes.

Posted on 08-27-2006 by AlphaSigma
I liked the beautiful letdown better but this is still a must for the switchfoot fan.

Posted on 08-27-2006 by SwitchfootRulz!
I give it an 8.

Posted on 08-27-2006 by InLovingEmery
Great album...but definitely not as good as TBL. The Shadow Proves the Sunshine is the best song. But they're all good, just not as good as their past stuff.

Posted on 08-29-2006 by Chem6Afreak
There stuff way back was better then Beautiful Letown and Nothing is Sound. But still there both pretty good albums. Stars was the best song, to bad they played it on the radio a million times. I gave it a 9.

Posted on 08-29-2006 by HolyRockJfreak
I loved the album...not as much as the beautiful letdown....and didn't have the same happiness or feel to the album...which isn't necessarily bad, but just didn't have the same touch....and I wasn't big on one or two songs....like the Fatal Wound...my favs were Stars, Happie is a Yuppie Word, Shadow Proves the Sunshine, and Golden....I gave it a 9....

Posted on 09-04-2007 by livingalive626
i just wish switchfoot would add more Christian themes in their lyrics....

Posted on 09-23-2006 by Chem6Afreak
[QUOTE=HolyRockJfreak;2585103]I loved the album...not as much as the beautiful letdown....and didn't have the same happiness or feel to the album...which isn't necessarily bad, but just didn't have the same touch....and I wasn't big on one or two songs....like the Fatal Wound...my favs were Stars, Happie is a Yuppie Word, Shadow Proves the Sunshine, and Golden....I gave it a 9....[/QUOTE]

When I here Legend of the Chin I feel like Im in a high school classroom looking at the girl I like(which I am already doing). When I hear the New Way to be Human I feel like Im searching for my job in life. When I hear Learning to breath I feel like Im dying and seeing my life before my eyes.When I hear The beautiful letdown I feel like Im seeing my future on fold (sort of like Learning to breathe).When I hear Nothing is Sound I feel like Im flying around in Space with the Stars. Each album brings a new feel or sound.:D :yep:

Posted on 09-23-2006 by thyfunkispure
I like NIS but the lyrics aren't as great as Learning to Breathe IMO. I give it an 8.

Posted on 09-30-2006 by DKelly
This CD is a letdown to me for Switchfoot. There are some great songs on this CD("Politicians", "Lonely Nation", and "Easier Than Love"), but other than those three, these songs are mediocre to average. I'm praying that [i]Oh! Gravity[/i] will be what [i]Nothing Is Sound[/i] should have been.


I give it a 6.

Posted on 09-30-2006 by akaukal
A somewhat disapointment. Politicians, The Shadow Proves the Sunlight, and Easier than Love are really the only not mediocre songs.

Posted on 09-30-2006 by burningtr33
finally we get a review. i like the CD.

Posted on 09-30-2006 by dirtysecondhand
I know you guys disagree with me, but i like their new stuff more. Their lyrics have always been truthful and hard hitting. But now It is complex and you can sit and think of the 5 different meanings the song can mean for different people. Switchfoot, seems like they're on a mission, and you can hear it in their music. TBL was great, but because of it's pop beat it got kinda old. I could listen to NIS for hours. 9

All the songs are good, and this is a must have

Posted on 10-01-2006 by burningtr33
[QUOTE=dirtysecondhand;2636662]I know you guys disagree with me, but i like their new stuff more. Their lyrics have always been truthful and hard hitting. But now It is complex and you can sit and think of the 5 different meanings the song can mean for different people. Switchfoot, seems like they're on a mission, and you can hear it in their music. TBL was great, but because of it's pop beat it got kinda old. I could listen to NIS for hours. 9

All the songs are good, and this is a must have[/QUOTE]

agreed. and dirty second hands rocks too. cant wait for Oh! gravity.

Posted on 10-01-2006 by Dirt
this is one of my favorite albums dawg, I gave it a 10. All the songs are really good.

Posted on 10-01-2006 by beau99
This is Switchfoot's worst.

Apart from a single song, nothing is worth a second listen.

Posted on 10-02-2006 by Zboy4God
I gave this one like an 11.
OK I love switchfoot thar my fav band in the world and this CD is awesome
I love all the songs and the lyrics on this one are so sweet that I cant start to explain how sweet. I love "the shadow proves the Sunshine"
and the sound on this CD is more like tbld then any of thar other stuff
thy did good on this one. so Ill say BUY IT!!!

Posted on 10-02-2006 by J_freek
i voted 10 until i realized it wasn't the album i thought it was....

Posted on 10-03-2007 by Relientk101
6 for me good cd but not one I could listen to 50 times Like an RK one

Posted on 10-27-2007 by Oh!Gravity
This album is actually probably my 2nd favorite. I listened to it once recently and it pretty much hasn't come out of my CD player. "We Are One Tonight" is absolutely amazing as is "Easier Than Love."

Posted on 10-27-2007 by Naragrath
Agreed.

Posted on 12-19-2006 by SF FREAK
C'MON! that was 05! it's 2006!

WOAH DUDE! all you have still got your nothing is sound disc's! mine has worn out and dosent work anymore case i've played it so many times!

OH! GRAVITY!! their new album is comin out! 26th december! WOOOO!

OH GRAVITY why cant we seem to keep it together, sons of my enemys why cant we seem to keep it together...LA LA LA LA LA (KEYBOARD SOLO)
in the back room of the pentagon theres a thin man with a line drawn, with a red jaw and a red bite....

WE LOVE YOU TIM!

(switchfoot making a green screen) and i went down to the hardware store and i saw all the green paint! few, luckly it was on sale! - Jeromie

ok this post is really long eh!

Posted on 12-20-2006 by tl_guitarnut
And has absolutly nothing to do with whats being discussed here.

Posted on 12-24-2007 by Epilogue
Love this album. One of my favorites of all time.


Complimentary Christian Ringtones
Dadamobile and CGR have teamed up to bring your favorite Christian artists right to your phone. Sign up today and get 10 complementary ringtones!
Tab Country
Did you know CGR has a sister site w/ country guitar tabs? Well we do! Its called Tab Country. It has a great archive with a lot of country tabs.
Rockin Tabs
Are you looking for a site that has rock guitar tabs? Then Rockintabs.com is the place for you. It is a budding site with many rock guitar tabs. Submit your tab today.
Tab Gallery
Tab Gallery has a compilation of christian, rock, and country tabs all in one place. Come visit us.