Go Back   Christian Guitar Forum > Musicians > Guitar
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Arcade Mark Forums Read

Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 08-20-2004, 11:12 AM   #1
I'm on a horse.

Send a message via AIM to Rainer.
The Beginner's Electric Guitar Thread

Since I'm always seeing so many of these around, I'm making a thread about it. Let's all suppose I'm a newbie to guitars, looking around for a lower end guitar, and I want something to learn on. What do you reccomend?

To Beginners:

First, go to the New To Guitar thread sticked to the top of the forum, and read the "Worst Advice" and "Beginners' Tips" thread. Then, after that, consider getting a guitar. This is just a list of reccomendations. Feel free to post your own thread for questions more specifically related to your needs.

Guitar Reccomendations:

First time beginner's guitars:

Fender Standard Stratocaster (AKA MIM Strat)
$350-450 New, $250-350 Used
Pros: Good quality, easy price for beginners, easily upgraded, readily availible, good resale value, extremely versatile.
Cons: Has a floating trem ("nimrod") system, which can be hard to set up, rather complex controls layout, and isn't really all too unique in the guitar world.
Variations: Fender Standard Fat Strat, Fender Standard Strat HH

Fender Standard Telecaster (AKA MIM Tele)
$350-450 New, $250-350 Used
Pros: Good quality, easy price for beginners, readily availible, decent resale value, pretty versatile, simple control layout, looks a bit different then most guitars.
Cons: Harder to upgrade, contains less of the "familiar rock tones"

Epiphone Les Paul (Studio/Standard)
$400-600 New, $300-500 Used
Pros: Decently made, readily availible, decent resale, versatile, good for the Les Paul look, decent tone.
Cons: Inconsistent quality (try at least 3 or 4 if buying new), many substandard parts (especially the switch), more difficult to upgrade then other guitars, cannot be purchsed online new.