Go Back   Christian Guitar Forum > Musicians > Guitar
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Arcade Mark Forums Read

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 11-27-2003, 02:52 PM   #16
Banned

There have been some very good points made about this. I would like to add that I agree that the "cheaper" line of guitars are being built much better today, than in years past. I remember 24 years ago when I started playing, the cheap line was a KAY GUITAR! Anyone ever played a KAY guitar?? Let me put it this way......they should change their company name from KAY to CRAP! Because I even remember trying out their higher priced guitars and they STILL sounded horrible! That had to be the worst company that EVER produced a guitar in my opinion! I really don't know WHERE they got their materials from.....but they were the cheapest of the cheap I can tell you that!

Newbies today have it so much better! They actually have a selection of lower grade guitars that don't have strings a mile off the fretboard, neck bowed and the finish looking about as cheap as a prostitute! All of that said, I will agree that there is room for improvement in this area and the high dollar guitar area. As far as the high dollar guitars go, I am thinking of getting a used PRS Mcarty! I really don't think they are all that bad as Cheshire Cat paints them!(If they were totally a horrid guitar I don't think anybody would buy them!) Now I DO believe they overprice their new guitars WAY too much! But for what I can get one used on ebay, it makes it worthwhile for me! As far as other companies overpricing their supposedly handmade guitars, they do it also. This is one thing I think needs to be changed with this high dollar stuff......charge what it is worth....not for hype!