Go Back   Christian Guitar Forum > Musicians > Vocals & Other Instruments
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Arcade Mark Forums Read

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 06-22-2003, 05:13 PM   #1

Finding the right keys to sing in...

well i'm pretty new to singing as im pretty shy when it comes to that so i never really tried much, and never really could. that is up until recently my voice started improving greatly so im really enjoying being able to lead songs on my worship team now and all. anyways im trying to learn as much as i can to improve my singing and knowledge of music in general. now when i learn songs on guitar im conscious of what key im playing it in. before i would just learn it in the key the artist plays it in, but now i try to learn worship songs in keys that are in my range. i don't really know what my range is except that im able to sing most songs well in E, A and G (though some songs in G are a bit of a stretch for me im getting better at it). in my experience so far in transposing to good keys for me i have run into a few obstacles. the biggest one right now is with shane barnard's song "i want it all" (Here's the tab if you want to refer to it http://www.msu.edu/~cogansco/shane/t...titall.crd.txt). the song uses a pretty wide range of chords and the problem im running into while transposing is that either the verse is too low and the chorus ok or the verse is ok and chorus too high. and sometimes both are just out of question. so im looking to improve my theory knowledge as well in this respect and understand why this is. ive been playing guitar for just a year so i still have much to learn. another thing i run into a little bit is being able to sing along to a song on record just fine and hten when i sit down and play it on guitar in the same key it seems slightly out of range compared to singing it with the recording. maybe that's just learning and grasping more skill. but anyways, any help or tips would be greatly apreciated.