Go Back   Christian Guitar Forum > Musicians > Vocals & Other Instruments
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Arcade Mark Forums Read

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 05-23-2003, 08:43 PM   #1

Send a message via AIM to lopar
Smile sight reading

heya... I was just wondering what you guys think can be done about improving sight reading.. i'm not talking about down to guitar and piano (which i also need work on, but i can get around,) but being able to hear or vocalize sheet music, even if only on a relative pitch. I can kinda do it on single interval runs, but i have trouble when anything separates..

any ideas/exercises?

lopar is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Unread 05-24-2003, 05:26 PM   #2
The Chameleon

Send a message via AIM to Shredcheddar
Well, I'm just starting to learn to read music after 19 months or so of guitar, but I can tell you what will help in any case.

If you practice scat-singing along to scales (playing and singing the same note simultaneously), as well as humming different intervals starting with an octave, to a minor 2nd, to a major 2nd, to a minor 3rd, to a major 3rd, to a 4th, to an augmented 4th/diminished 5th, etc......excercises like these will naturally help your ear develop, and should help with sight reading. However, you should probably troubleshoot the problem directly, but since I don't have anything for you, you can scat-sing in the meantime. It's good to know anyway.

BTW, Nate , is that the correct terminology for a half-step interval--a minor 2nd? If you would point out any mistakes I made in terminology, just so I'll know .
Unread 05-24-2003, 08:18 PM   #3
A Random Guy

Send a message via AIM to R2D2
The ability to sing something based off the written music is called sight singing. It's one of the most important skills any musician should have, but for some reason, most people neglect it entirely. It's very good that you've being proactive about it.