Go Back   Christian Guitar Forum > Musicians > Guitar
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Arcade Mark Forums Read

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 03-23-2003, 12:51 PM   #1

Question Guitars

i'm a newbie with guitars and i was just wondering if there were any guitars made for people with small fingers?

unixman217 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Unread 03-23-2003, 01:12 PM   #2
seeking God

umm...look for guitars with smaller scale lengths.
alot of companies make 3/4 or even 1/2 sized guitars that have shorter scale lengths.
check out stuff like
work on find stregnth though, this will help alot. and beyond that, 90% playing, unless you have really really small hands, hand size doesn't matter. so don't worry about it too much.
if you feel like hand size is a problem, look at some of the nicer miniature guitars...i 'm partial, but taylor makes some pretty good ones, in the $400 range.
Unread 03-23-2003, 02:58 PM   #3

thanks for the info
unixman217 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-23-2003, 03:00 PM   #4
gg7
retired from CGR. :)

i have small hands too..but something to remember as a new player is that you need time to develop the ability to stretch your fingers out more and to build strength in them..it's kinda like a sport in the way that you need to physicall training as well, so the more you play the stronger you'll get and more flexible..
for smaller guitars:

a taylor 'baby' (aka baby taylor) is a great little guitar.

larrivee parlor is anothe excellent guitar, although the fret spacing isn't as narrow as the baby taylor the size is still small.

fender makes a smaller 'travel guitar' can't remember the model number...
gg7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-23-2003, 03:17 PM   #5