Go Back   Christian Guitar Forum > Musicians > Bass
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Arcade Mark Forums Read

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 12-15-2002, 10:54 AM   #31
Get with the fusion

Send a message via AIM to "BrooksB"
I've seen that kind of tapping on a guitar, too. I'm not that big of a fan of any kind of tapping though, so I don't do it at all except for when I'm just trying to get better.

I do, I see, and I taste from inside
The way you come to me
Is like being pulled out to sea in riptide fashion
"BrooksB" is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Unread 12-15-2002, 12:46 PM   #32
The Chameleon

Send a message via AIM to Shredcheddar
Even though I'm a guitarist, here I go...

Bass is a different instrument with a different role than a guitarist's. Bassists must be able to 'link' the drums and guitar, using percussive techniques with a groove that flows with the beat. In my opinion, the bass could replace a drummer in a band easier than a drummer replace a bassist, because the bass brings more expression, emotion, and total fullness to a band's sound. Plus, bassists must be able to compliment the sound, but not go overboard. If you want to hear some great bass playing (stylistically) check out Phil Keaggy's music.

Another point: bass is much more physically demanding on the hands than guitar. Fatigue can set in much faster, due to the heavy gage strings and bigger neck. To be fast on a bass is truly amazing.

So keep up the good work, bassists, and let me keep to my job as a guitarist.
Unread 12-15-2002, 05:07 PM   #33
Get with the fusion

Send a message via AIM to "BrooksB"
Quote:
Originally posted by Shredcheddar
In my opinion, the bass could replace a drummer in a band easier than a drummer replace a bassist, because the bass brings more expression, emotion, and total fullness to a band's sound.