Go Back   Christian Guitar Forum > Musicians > Theory & Technique
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Arcade Mark Forums Read

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 12-16-2015, 11:10 AM   #1

Chord Name for D chord with a Cmaj shape

Hey guys! Though I've been playing guitar and bass for MANY years, some chord names still elude me. We are doing Holy Spirit (the one where Cody Carnes starts and Kari Jobe picks up on the 2nd Verse) a full step lower than how they do it. I know that the chord chords at the beginning, in this key, are D and then G, but it really sounds like what is being played on the guitar is an open C shape moved up a step from the original C position. Hope this makes sense.

x54030 would be the fret positions (I think I have that in the right order).

noisefiend3000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Unread 12-16-2015, 01:49 PM   #2
Basically... run.

paid
I asked one of my friends who is pretty good at music theory that once, and I think he thought it might be Dadd11, and Googling that chord seems to indicate a few people who agree. It also brings about a lot of argument and disagreement too. :P

Bass - Yamaha TRBX 505, Yamaha RBX 375
Acoustic Guitars - Ovation Celebrity Deluxe CC48, J. Watson & Co. WD150TB, J&D Luthier
Electric Guitars - Fender Classic '72 Telecaster Thinline (2007), Maton Mastersound, Epiphone Les Paul Studio Chameleon, SX VTG Series Tele copy, Ibanez SA
Guitar Amp - Fender Mustang IV V2
Bass Amp - Behringer Ultrabass BXL1800A
Gear - POD HD500X, Zoom G9.2tt, Zoom B9.1ut, Boss DD-20

Warning: This journal may contain diary

But He was pierced for our transgressions
He was crushed for our iniquities;
The punishment that brought us peace was upon Him,
And by His wounds we are healed.
Giga Hertz is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-16-2015, 02:47 PM   #3
Be happy

Quote:
Originally Posted by Giga Hertz View Post