Go Back   Christian Guitar Forum > Community > CGR Members' Art, Music & Literature
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Arcade Mark Forums Read

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 06-06-2014, 04:50 AM   #1

My Greatest Failure

2 Corinthians 12:9

English Standard Version (ESV)

9 But he said to me, My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness. Therefore I will boast all the more gladly of my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ may rest upon me.

After two decades of working in churches helping in the area of leading worship as a volunteer then moving six years ago into full time ministry as a Youth Pastor, I have come to the conclusion that my life is not what it seems.

In fact my life has never been what it seemed!

As a young minister starting out, i was very unsure of myself and my abilities. My fears of doing or saying the wrong thing or making poor choices in leading young people would cripple me so much that all i would do for weeks on end would be to throw myself into the, 'worship leader mode', a mode i knew very well.

But this was a huge weakness for me, i did not have anyone in youth ministry to guide me through these trials. I made the stupid mistakes of rejecting the opportunities to network with other youth leaders, because i didn't like their theology.

After just one year in the Job i felt God speak to my heart that i was to quit the worship ministry altogether for a season and remove the instruments from my office so that i would not use them as a crutch when i was struggling with youth work.

This is when i began to find out who i really was, i began to see all of my flaws, failures and weaknesses.