Go Back   Christian Guitar Forum > Community > CGR Members' Art, Music & Literature
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Arcade Mark Forums Read

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 05-18-2014, 07:39 PM   #1
Old School
Administrator

Untitled Novel Snippet

Here are the first two pages of a thing that I am currently working on.

One

I am going home and the very thought of it terrifies me. Just saying the word “home” causes my stomach to knot up. I turned forty-four years old last month. I am a professional songwriter and by the world's standards, I am fairly successful. I have made enough money to pay off the mortgage on my house in just under ten years and I currently have no debt. I am not rich but I honestly don't have to worry about money. I drive a brand new Lincoln Mark X that I paid cash for. Yeah, I know it's not a Maserati or anything exotic...but I like it and it is mine. Truth is, most people look at me and assume that I have it all together. The few friends I have in the business think I am the most well adjusted person they've ever met. I don't have a drug or alcohol problem. I do like to have a beer every now and then and I love cigars, but those are my only true vices. Like I said, folks think I have it made. However, just the idea of stepping back into the house that I was raised in makes me want to curl up in the corner.