Go Back   Christian Guitar Forum > Musicians > Worship Leading
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Arcade Mark Forums Read

Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 10-27-2013, 10:35 PM   #1

Frustrated inclined to quit

Hello,

I have been playing acoustic rhythm guitar in a local church for 2 1/2 years, I am in my 50s, played guitar in my teens into my 20s for about 10 years steadily, but life and business got in the way so I pretty much dropped out of playing. Three years ago I my children showed a strong interest in playing music; I felt compelled to start playing again. I started playing in the local church that we attend.

I underestimated how much I had forgotten and how much I had never learned, it was an awakening, my playing left a lot to be desired; as a result I was pretty much treated as if I was not there, I approached the leadership multiple times about whether I should step down, but was told multiple times that I was an asset to the band and that I should stick it out.

Fast forward 3 years, I have picked up the slack a lot, there is still a lot to learn, but I still feel like I don't matter much to the band; when "thank you for being here" are handed out I seem to be left out of them, when "who's going to be here Saturday" is being asked I am regularly left out. I am a reliable member, I show up Saturdays and Sunday reliably unless there is some family affair going on.

This weekend was tough, we were playing Amazing Grace for offertory, a song that I consider a "sleeper" easy to play and one that I enjoy playing a lot, however the piano player asked me if I minded letting someone else use my guitar to play the song. I obediently agreed and sat down.

However this did not make me feel too good. I am at a crossroad where I think I should back down. I have been praying hard for guidance, but have not come up with a clear resolution.

I wonder if anyone here has found themselves in a similar position and how you have handled it.