Go Back   Christian Guitar Forum > Musicians > Bass
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Arcade Mark Forums Read

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 02-06-2013, 12:49 AM   #1

Need Opinions, Comments,suggestions about this bass guitar rig.

I used to play guitar when I was in high school, back when I was around 15 or so.
I took lessons for around 2 years... stuck with it for a while, then lost interest.

I have recently become a member of a Church, with a 'modern worship' service.
I have become pretty good friends with the church band, since I have been setting up mics, and running the soundboard.

The bass player they had was from another church, and only came on occasion.
I was asked if I knew anyone who would could play bass every Sunday with them..

Ive been kicking it around in my head for a few months-- and I think I am going to try it out.
I still know most of the guitar chords, and a few scales and such.

I went to my local guitar center, tried out a few guitars-- then strapped on a bass.
I think this is going to be fun...challenging... but still fun..

I have been thinking about the Dean Exotica Acoustic Bass in Transparent Black. It has an onboard EQ and preamp for electric use.

I also like the SWR California Blonde II -- acoustic instrument amp.

what do you think about this setup?
i know its a lot, but i dont really consider myself a green leaf beginner, you know?
i know about guitar gear, and i know what sounds good- from doing sound for 10+ years.

please express your opinions, and fell free to comment.

Charlie

Charlie071 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Unread 02-06-2013, 12:53 AM   #2
Administrator

Send a message via AIM to thesteve
Is there any reason in particular that you're leaning towards an acoustic setup? Given your description of the service, it seems a little counterintuitive.

I'm a podcaster
thesteve is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-06-2013, 05:56 AM   #3