Go Back   Christian Guitar Forum > Musicians > Theory & Technique
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Arcade Mark Forums Read

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 03-14-2012, 01:25 PM   #1

Thumbs down Upgrading my chords

Well, I have been playing electric in my youth band for a while and now they want me playing in main service as rythym. only problem is i must admit ive only been play power 5 chords because for some reason they sound the best to me. When i recieve chord sheets i just play the fifth, so how can i sound more mature with my chords. I am also an experienced jazz guitarist at my school so i can play and know some of the more crazy chords. Any suggestions?

guitargeek759 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Unread 03-14-2012, 01:30 PM   #2
Administrator

Send a message via AIM to thesteve
I have to say, I don't really understand the question...

I would just feel it out. If you know jazz chords, I would assume you know standard pop/rock chordings. If the sheet calls for a maj7 or a minor or just a major, play what's on the sheet. Sometimes the root/5th works just fine as well.

I'm a podcaster
thesteve is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-14-2012, 01:37 PM   #3
I'm on a horse.

Send a message via AIM to Rainer.
I think one of the cool things you can do is understand what extensions you can do for each of the chords, by understanding what position the root is on the scale.

For example, let's look at all the triads in the key of C major.

C Dm Em F G Am Bdim (I'll leave out Bdim in the next steps, it's a bit... unnecessary)

Now (if you look at these chords on a keyboard, it shows why this make sense), let's extend those to the 7ths.

Cmaj7 Dm7 Em7 Fmaj7 G7 Am7

We can extend those out to the 9th, too.

Cmaj9 Dm9 Em7(b9) Fmaj9 G9 Am9

Take out the 7 for some tasty add9 chords.

Transpose it to any key you like.

Rainer. is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-14-2012, 01:38 PM   #4

Quote:
Originally Posted by thesteve View Post