Go Back   Christian Guitar Forum > Musicians > Bass
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Arcade Mark Forums Read

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 01-06-2012, 08:29 AM   #1

Send a message via Yahoo to magsepi
I feel like I have become stagnant in my playing. I am self taught. I started on guitar about ten years ago. After a couple of years I took guitar lessons but stopped because I didnt care for his teaching style. I wasnt learning much. Then i switched to bass exclusively.
I quit playing for about 4 years .
But now I am back into it seriously.
I dont know if I want lessons. I fall in between biginner and intermediate and even maybe not quite advanced. I have never played with other musicians.

Need to learn the notes on the strings for whatever reason i cant learn them. I have taught myself to read music but its no use if i dont know the note names on the strings.

I also need to learn how to use my pinky finger and make stretches fron the frets. I move my fretting hand all over the neck instead of stretching.
And there are a few other things that I need to know how to do or do better.
I cant afford lessons and most teachers I talk to prior to lessons want to start me as if i am picking up the bass for the first time. I dont need that.
I think i might like to jam with other musicians but fear I wont be able to keep up with others.
Any suggestions on what I can do?

magsepi is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Unread 01-06-2012, 08:42 AM   #2
and you were wondering??
Administrator

paid
Have you tried to look for videos on youtube? There are dozens of guitar lessons and bass lessons on there that could probably help you out.

Yes... I am the official "Knight Who Will Write Something On Derrida".
Bask in the wonderful glory.

"outside of a dog a book is a man's best friend... inside a dog it is too dark to read."
-groucho marx

Quote:
Originally Posted by Demon_Hunter View Post
Taylor, you just got drive-by theologied.