Go Back   Christian Guitar Forum > Musicians > Bass
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Arcade Mark Forums Read

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 01-18-2010, 07:30 PM   #1

I need advice!

Ok, give me a break. I'm still a little new to the whole bass thing but I am ready for a new amp. I've been looking around and I found one that I kind of like. This thing is huge so don't freak out when you click the link:

Buy Behringer Ultrabass BB410 1200W 4x10 Bass Cabinet | Amp Cabinets | Musician's Friend

I know it's big but I figured for $300 I could get that one or get something smaller for the same price. Is this advisable or should I change to something else?

I was talking to a friend about it and he said I might need a head for amp shown above. I don't know anyone who owns a head (none of us have felt like giving out that much money) so I don't know how they work or what to look for in a head. Any advice on this would be great! Thanks a bunch!

I_is_Homelearnd is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Unread 01-18-2010, 07:41 PM   #2

Send a message via AIM to thesteve
Yes, you'd need a amp head to go with that speaker cabinet.

What's your total budget for all of this?

I'm a podcaster
thesteve is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-18-2010, 07:45 PM   #3
Lieutenant Commander

Quote:
Originally Posted by I_is_Homelearnd View Post
I was talking to a friend about it and he said I might need a head for amp shown above. I don't know anyone who owns a head (none of us have felt like giving out that much money) so I don't know how they work or what to look for in a head. Any advice on this would be great! Thanks a bunch!
Your friend is correct. What your link leads to is a bass speaker cabinet. The head contains the electronics that drive the speakers. You're probably more familiar with the combo amplifier--a single unit that houses the speakers and the amp.