Go Back   Christian Guitar Forum > Musicians > Bass
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Arcade Mark Forums Read

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 11-03-2009, 09:32 AM   #1

Wearing in the strings...

WARNING: Dumb question

Is there a way to speed up the wearing in process on new bass strings? I just changed the strings on my bass after not changing them in about 5 years, and I find that I'm missing that worn in tone. Also, sorry. My knowledge of bass strings is almost none. I've only done it about 2-3 times ever since I started playing bass (8th grade)...

Sean.thomson is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Unread 11-03-2009, 01:19 PM   #2
heeeey brother

Not that I have found, just playing them.

But, you can different types of strings. I have three different basses and they all different types of strings on them.
My Warmoth I string with D'Addario Half Rounds, my P-Bass has D'Addario Chromes (flats) and my Peavey T-20 has rounds on it.
I used to also string the P Bass with super thick tape wounds, but I like the flats better.

From your description I think you should give half rounds a shot. To my ear, they sound a lot like rounds after being played for a couple months, and they stay like that for a long time.
They have a really high tension and feel different so it may take getting used to, but giver a shot!
Unread 11-03-2009, 01:37 PM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Micahb View Post
Not that I have found, just playing them.

But, you can different types of strings. I have three different basses and they all different types of strings on them.
My Warmoth I string with D'Addario Half Rounds, my P-Bass has D'Addario Chromes (flats) and my Peavey T-20 has rounds on it.
I used to also string the P Bass with super thick tape wounds, but I like the flats better.

From your description I think you should give half rounds a shot. To my ear, they sound a lot like rounds after being played for a couple months, and they stay like that for a long time.