Go Back   Christian Guitar Forum > Hobbies & Entertainment > Sports & Outdoors
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Arcade Mark Forums Read

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 04-29-2010, 10:37 AM   #61
Gone

Ha! I love this thread.

Welcome, supersoldier. It's great to see part of your story. Just curious - how tall are you?

jthomas, of course I'm no expert, but I think there are lots of ways to lift for gain. One method I've tried to use is Linear 5x5, a system you can see one iteration of here. The idea is that you simplify your workout and do some precise mathematics to figure out how much to lift for each set. The most important key is that you START LIGHT for the 1st set. The cool thing about a 5x5 is that a beginner can add strength quite fast this way. One of the problems with it is that it doesn't work if you don't follow it exactly.

Another thing (suggested to me by a friend who's a world-champion powerlifter) is to focus on the big lifts (deadlift, squat, and bench), and do a resistance day and a reps day for each, with 2-3 days' rest between. So, for example, today I did a heavy day on bench - I started with 85, and my last set was 210. Monday, I did a rep day - 4 sets of 10 at 185. He also says "No powerlifter who knows what he's doing will bench more than twice a week."

The great thing about this is that you only train to failure on one set all week, but you're doing it. And the reasoning behind it comes from something else my buddy said once: "If you want to lift heavy weight, you have to lift heavy weight."

That said, I have read that one way to amp up your results is to increase the intensity of the workout, and there are 3 ways you can do that: increase resistance, increase repetitions, and decrease time between sets. If the workout isn't intense, it's not doing nearly as much as it could be.

Give thanks to YHWH, for He is good!

Gone

Last edited by Ted Logan; 04-30-2010 at 02:34 PM.
Ted Logan is offline   Reply With Quote