Go Back   Christian Guitar Forum > Musicians > Vocals & Other Instruments
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Arcade Mark Forums Read

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 12-17-2008, 05:53 AM   #1

Nay ear players who got good at sight reading?

Just wodering if any piano players on here are good ear players who worked at, and got good at sight reading. How did you do it? Did you use your ear to help this? Any particular techniques? (I guess I'm being lazy and looking for short cuts... )

Technics SX-P50 Digital Piano, Yamaha S03 Synth, GEM PK7 Keyboard (Faulty), Maton EM325C Acoustic, Ibanez RGX Electric (Faulty) , SX Standard Electric, Peavey Blazer 158 Amp, PC Pentium 4 HT 3.0Mhz 512Mb RAM, Cakewalk Home Studio 6XL, Edirol MA-10A Monitors, Behringer Xenyx 802 Mixer, M-Audio Audiophile 2496 Soundcard (about to buy).
thebas2560 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Unread 09-15-2009, 03:51 PM   #2
Resident MusicGeek

I've been playing keys for about 4 years now and a trick I use for keys (and the sax which i picked up for school band) is to tap whatever beat the song uses that's giving you trouble (often a 16th triplet or dotted eighth) with my feet very slowly and whistle the melody. It's easier to whistle than to play a piano melody, so it helps you learn the rhythm of the song, and then it's a simple matter of reading the notes (hopefully you know how to do that since you're on this forum.)

God bless, hope that helps.
Rockman33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-15-2009, 03:51 PM   #3
Resident MusicGeek

oh, and that was my first post on this forum(YAY)
Rockman33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-12-2012, 05:47 PM   #4

it is hard to go from play be ear to play by sheet music... The preferred method is the read first then play by ear.

Most musician prefer to play by ear. But to now start to play by sheet music will take dedication and patience. Don't rush it. Take your time.
albesureful is offline   Reply With Quote