Go Back   Christian Guitar Forum > Musicians > Vocals & Other Instruments
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Arcade Mark Forums Read

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 07-28-2008, 07:51 PM   #1
Pyro-Hippie

In dire need of some advice...

So I will be auditioning to sing for this big thing on Saturday. I'm supposed to sing a stanza of "Amazing Grace" and a song of my choice, a capella. I am quite nervous as I have never done anything like this before, so I really don't know what to expect. And I've no idea where or how I can find a good song that I can sing that will sound good without instrumental accompaniment, let alone that it will show off my vocal range and such. I thankyouthankyouthankyou for any input on this as far as what to expect and how to prepare for it, and any other whatevers you think might be helpful.

Unread 07-28-2008, 08:57 PM   #2
I'm on a horse.

Send a message via AIM to Rainer.
If it helps, you really do have a lovely voice. Be confident!

Make sure you pick a song in a comfortable key. What you should sing depends on what you're auditioning for, I think. What is this "big thing"?

Rainer. is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-29-2008, 10:49 AM   #3
Pyro-Hippie

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rainer. View Post
If it helps, you really do have a lovely voice. Be confident!

Make sure you pick a song in a comfortable key. What you should sing depends on what you're auditioning for, I think. What is this "big thing"?
I am auditioning for a position on a (really good) worship team as a vocalist. And I was just informed that I'll have a lot of competitors...
Unread 07-30-2008, 04:28 PM   #4
Pyro-Hippie

Alright, so here's my plan so far.

I've looked up a bunch of videos of other "Amazing Grace" capellas for some ideas, which was extremely helpful. So I have the first and second verses of Amazing grace memorized, the first one being sung in a particular way. I may just make up the second as it comes if I can't settle on anything.