Go Back   Christian Guitar Forum > Musicians > Vocals & Other Instruments
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Arcade Mark Forums Read

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 03-24-2008, 10:38 AM   #1
Baritone ax'er

New to drums, what to look for?

Hey guys, I am seriously considering purchasing a drum set, I have been playing guitar for 3 1/2 years, mostly rhythm, so I can keep a good beat on a guitar while adding my own flavor to it fairly easily. I know that keeping a good rhythm on drums is much different than on a guitar or bass, so I will be buying a book for drums (due to time constraints and money, I couldnt get drum lessons, at least for quite a while).

I am wanting an acoustic set, I've played on electrics and acoustics and like the thickness of the acoustics FAR better than an electric set. I am hoping to work up to being able to play to bands like Demon Hunter, so I'm wanting a thick and heavy sound.

I don't know much about drums in general, is there a place on the Internet that is sort of like an FAQ or "tutorial" for drums or for those just beginning?

I will probably be able to spend $700-$1000 on a set, but I do not know the differences between brands and am not sure what to look for (I'm sorry that I have hardly any knowledge, but hopefully I will catch on fairly quick ). Can anyone help me at all?

TIA
Cam

All That Remains, As I Lay Dying, August Burns Red, Becoming the Archetype, Bullet For My Valentine,Europe (The Final Countdown ), DecembeRadio, Decyfer Down, Demon Hunter, Disciple, Flyleaf, Inhale Exhale, Killswitch Engage, Living Sacrifice, Pillar, Red, Skillet.

Guitars: Schecter C-1 EX Baritone Blackjack electric; Fender StarCaster electric, JBP acoustic
Amps: Line 6 Spider III 75 Watt, Fender SP10
Accesories: Line 6 FBV Express pedal

92% of teenagers have moved to rap, put this in your sig if your the 8% that listens to real music

My Schecter C-1 EX Baritone Blackjack

Rock 'n Christ is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links