Go Back   Christian Guitar Forum > Musicians > Vocals & Other Instruments
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Arcade Mark Forums Read

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 12-07-2007, 11:14 AM   #1

Good drums for $700?

Well i've been playing guitar and piano for like 6 years and now I decided to try and learn drums, so are there any good drums sets WITH cymbals for under $700? Idk what i want them to sound like maybe like Three Days Grace or breaking Benjamin if thats possable for under $700 lol . Here's some i've been looking at.
http://www.musiciansfriend.com/produ...als?sku=490253
http://www.musiciansfriend.com/produ...dle?sku=443278

unseen is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Unread 12-08-2007, 10:50 AM   #2

Anybody?
unseen is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-08-2007, 11:03 AM   #3
JT

I don't know what those bands sound like, but with drums in particular, a lot of the sound is going to be governed by the choice of heads and the way you tune them. I haven't played either of those sets, but in general I've had good experience with the lower-end kits made by companies that have higher end kits--like Tama or Pearl or whoever.

My standard recommendation is to go used on the cymbals, though. I don't think you'll be very happy with the sound of cymbals that can be purchased new on your budget. I'd look for Zildian A or K series, Sabian AA or HH series, or Paiste Alpha/Dimensions/Traditional/Signature/Sound Formula/they-may-have-something-new series. Personally, I enjoy the sound that a little aging tends to bring to a cymbal. A little less harsh.
Jay Tea is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-18-2008, 01:06 PM   #4
Hey ya'll, watch this!

I'd go with the Ludwigs. I don't care for that configuration but it's pretty standard for a starting point.