Go Back   Christian Guitar Forum > Musicians > Guitar
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Arcade Mark Forums Read

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 07-19-2007, 01:33 PM   #1

Hope this story may be encouragement to noobies

Just thought I'd share my experience from last night...hopefully I can encourage some of you who are just starting...

A little background: I have been playing guitar for 13 years or so (I'm 33). I have been playing lead guitar in our church's contemporary worship service for approx. 2 years. Now, bear in mind, I am SO thankful for this opportunity. We have an awesome worship team, great sound system and sound guys, and the service is pretty big by church service standards--we usually run 1000-1100 in the contemporary service (with another 1000-1100 in the "blended" service). I thank God every week for letting me have the chance to play every week in this service. Such a blessing.

The only problem is, we are a Baptist church, and although the band cuts loose pretty good with the music most of the time (think Tomlin live show), the congregation is, well, ...... Baptist. I think they've come a long way in worship participation, but no one would drop in and mistake the crowd for charismatics.

Fast forward to last night. Our band had the opportunity to play at a summer youth camp. My first time. Good crowd, not quite as big as our worship services (prob. 400 or so).....but man, they were FIRED UP. Packed in front of the stage (instead of staying in the pews), hopping up and down, singing with all they had, most importantly, having an awesome time worshiping God.