Go Back   Christian Guitar Forum > Musicians > Guitar
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Arcade Mark Forums Read

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 12-07-2001, 08:54 AM   #1
Liz

Question *please Help

Ive been playing classical guitar for about 1 1/2 years now and i recently taught myself how to strum. Is there a certain pattern you have to use to strum and how do you hold the pick? How often do you change the strings? -Liz

Liz is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Unread 12-07-2001, 09:11 AM   #2
Good Grief!!!

There is not one certain pattern you have to strum. How you strum depends on what the time signature of your song is (how many beats in a measure and how they feel). There are countless strum "patterns," and fresh ones being used every day.

To hold a pick (assuming you mean a flat pick) correctly, use the pad of your thumb and the side of your index finger and hold on to most of the pick. Point it "down," so that the tip of the pick appears to be coming out the side of your thumb...

Some people really notice a change in sound when their strings age. I am one of these people, so I change strings every couple of weeks. That can get expensive, though, if you really don't notice a significant change in sound. There are many guitarists on these boards that only change every couple of months.

Nate
nate95366 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-07-2001, 09:21 AM   #3
Liz

Is playing the electric guitar any different from playing acoustic?

Liz
Unread 12-07-2001, 09:27 AM   #4

Send a message via ICQ to jonh
Hi Liz,

i've been playing for about three years now...

if you have a classical guitar, usually you would use your fingers to strum instead of a pick (used mainly for folk). the fingers to use are your thumb and your index finger, or all fingers except the index finger (hard to explain, ask a classical guitarist)

but this is not comfortable for most people...