Go Back   Christian Guitar Forum > Musicians > Guitar
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Arcade Mark Forums Read

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 04-25-2006, 06:26 AM   #1
Is it such a crime?

Send a message via AIM to Paradigm_Shift
From Acoustic, to Electric (Seeking purchasing tips/brands)

So I took a look at the guidelines posted above, and decided to ask a question or two of my own. I am looking to purchase an electric.

-Experience. I have been playing Acoustic for 3 years.
-Guitar # 2
-Why you want a new guitar, if this is not your first. I am very interested in trying out an electric.
-Price range. $100 - $350ish
-Guitars you've looked at. Haven't looked at any. I own a Takamine Acoustic G-series.
-Amps you've looked at. Haven't looked at any. Advice wanted.
-Musical style. A wide variety of sounds. I want to be able to play some good, loud music - but be able to tone it down for a church setting.
-If you're willing to buy used gear. Yes, to an extent I suppose. It's not the most appealing concept, however.
-Where you plan to buy (guitar shop/local sellers/eBay/online store/etc.). All of the above. Doesn't matter, really.
-Situations you play in... Church, Home, Garage Band
-Any timelines. None - preferrably by mid-summer, however.
-Any other information that is relevant. I have been playing Acoustic for about 3-4 years, and have used only one guitar for the entire time... my Takamine G-series. Electric guitars have always appealed to me, and I am now seriously considering purchasing one.

Paradigm_Shift is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Unread 04-25-2006, 06:45 AM   #2

Does 1-350$ include the amp? Or is that separate? Do you want single coils, or HBs? Alot of what you're asking pertains to the amp, and not so much the guitar. Be sure that when you are seriously considering an instrument purchase, that you do all of your homework, leave no doubt in your mind that you're decision is the right one. Specifics are your friend.