Christian Guitar Forum

Christian Guitar Forum (http://www.christianguitar.org/forums/)
-   Guitar (http://www.christianguitar.org/forums/f13/)
-   -   Stupid Newbie Question (http://www.christianguitar.org/forums/t177951/)

OiBoyz 06-12-2009 11:03 AM

Stupid Newbie Question

I played several years ago (mostly self taught) and haven't touched a guitar in at least five years, but I'm going to be playing again soon. As soon as my guitar gets here...

I was watching this video on youtube. What the heck is Peter doing with his index finger when he's playing the F chord?

It's been a while since I've played, and I didn't think that F was barred, so I went back to my guitar books and couldn't find a version of F that's barred. Is he just using that first finger to hold down the first two strings and not really touching the fret the rest of the way up?

Oh, and if you follow that link back to newsongcafe on youtube, they have some wonderful worship song tutorials.

AudioAUnderdog 06-12-2009 11:14 AM

That's the normal way to play an F chord, it's barred. It looks like this tabbed out.

e---------1---------
b---------1---------
g---------2---------
d---------3---------
a---------3--------
E---------1--------

By the way, welcome to the boards! :)

OiBoyz 06-12-2009 11:21 AM

http://img241.imageshack.us/img241/2499/35704610.gif

So, are you saying that the index finger is muting those top two strings? Apparently, I've been doing it wrong all these years...

I told you I was mostly self taught.

Rainer. 06-12-2009 11:27 AM

No, the "full" F barre chord is played 1/3/3/2/1/1. Barre all 6 strings across the first fret. :yep:

OiBoyz 06-12-2009 11:33 AM

I wonder what else I'm going to need to relearn?

Thanks!

Ok, so should I have known it was barred by looking at the chord diagram I linked? Shouldn't the chord diagram look more like this

http://img265.imageshack.us/img265/5391/fchord.jpg

Sorry to be such a newbie here.

jeepnstein 06-12-2009 12:40 PM

Quote: