Christian Guitar Forum

Christian Guitar Forum (http://www.christianguitar.org/forums/)
-   Guitar (http://www.christianguitar.org/forums/f13/)
-   -   Burstbucker VS Dimarzio PAF (http://www.christianguitar.org/forums/t119911/)

thrashmetal15 01-30-2006 08:16 PM

Burstbucker VS Dimarzio PAF

I am thinking about replacing the pups in my vantage with either Gibson Burstbuckers or Dimarzio PAF's.

I need all the practical information on these pickups that I can get, difference in tonal qualities, build quality, stuff like that. I'm perty skeptical about paying 260 dollars for a pair of pickups.

I'm looking for a semi high-gain old rock sound...a-la the 60's-70's.

Major Tom 01-30-2006 08:51 PM

I can't speak for the Burstbuckers, but I have some experience with DiMArzio PAF's, still have some installed. I have a couple PAF Classics and a PAF, just ebayed a PAF Pro. Also have a couple SD's - a couple '59s and a Pearly Gates. As far as build quality, sure, they are as good as any others, no problems that I can see. Honestly, I don't think you'll notice much difference from one good PAF type to another, other than when one specifies a particular idiosyncracy, like the Pearly Gates; "PAF with Texas Sizzle" which is true, its like a PAF with extra high end. Some PAF types model aged (weakened magnets) PAF's, others are s'posed to be like PAF's were when they were new.

Personally, I would skip the Burstbuckers - that is a high price to pay for that type of product. So many players buy and trade out pickups, there's lots of 'em on ebay that are just about like new. DiMarzio's usually go for a few bucks less than SD, but in general, those brands go for 30 -50 bucks each on ebay. I recently bought a pair of DiMarzio Bluesbuckers open coil, in great shape for about 75 bux shipped - just about 1/2 of what they sell for. At prices like that, you can swap 'em around and re-bay 'em if you don't like 'em.